D.H. Lawrence at the CSWR

From the collection description:
This a collection of handwritten and signed letters from D. H. Lawrence, amassed by the Center for Southwest Research. The collection was formerly called, “D.H. Lawrence Letter and Photograph to George Conway." The title change reflects the addition letters, miscellaneous envelopes, and a photograph in March 2012.

The letter from Lawrence to Conway discusses life in New Mexico, progress on his Mexico novel, "The Plumed Serpent", and mentions the devastating illness he contracted in Oaxaca. Letters to his publisher, Thomas Seltzer discuss progress with his (Lawrence's) writing and publishing plans, contracts, and upcoming travel plans to Mexico. A confrontational letter from Lawrence to publisher B. W Huebsch, severs their relationship. Envelopes addressed to Thomas Seltzer and Mrs. Thomas Seltzer in Lawrence's hand and a photograph of a Jan Juta's portrait sketch of Lawrence are also included.

A letter dated 17 April 1925 and written to the "Lawrence Eight" at Trenton Senior High School was added to the collection in September 2018. Lawrence wrote from the Del Monte Ranch in Questa after returning from a trip to "Old Mexico." In this philosophical letter, he discusses virtues such as courage, soulfullness, and hope. This letter was donated to CSWR by Mark Raybould.

From the collection description:
The correspondence from Frieda Lawrence and Dorothy Brett to Warren Roberts focuses on the dispensation of D.H. Lawrence (DHL) material. Roberts is pursuing the material both for his own research and for the University of Texas collections. The letters become more informal and friendly as the relationships matured.

Frieda Lawrence’s letters provide insight into her contemplation regarding the dispensation of DHL’s manuscript materials and her feelings about the flurry of interest in DHL. Frieda addresses her letters to Warren and his wife, Pat.

Dorothy Brett’s correspondence with Roberts also becomes less formal and more friendly with time. Brett’s perennial financial struggle is prevalent in the conversations and negotiations for her letters, books, and artwork related to DHL. Her correspondence also provides insight into her personal life, her painting, Taos personalities, visitors, and the weather.

From the collection description:
The D.H. Lawrence collection contains 26 typescripts (usually carbon copies), and 5 galley proofs. Some of the typescripts have minor alterations in ink. Most of them appear to come from Lawrence's English agent, Curtis Brown as some bear his label and are stamped, "Must Await American Release Date." Included are 16 essays, 5 short stories, 2 poems, a play, 5 introductions, book reviews, 2 miscellaneous items associated with Lawrence, as well as correspondence. Also included in the collection are 4 documents concerning the death and transport of the remains of D.H. Lawrence to New Mexico. A guest book from the D.H. Lawrence Ranch, July 1937-June, 1963, contains the signatures of Georgia O'Keeffe, T.M. (Matt) Pearce, Robinson Jeffers, Peggy Pond Church, Dorothy Brett, and Edward Weston to name but a few.