Research Guides: Contemporary Photography: Primary Sources

Archival Collections for Contextual Research

Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural resource for information on women's studies and women's history with books, pamphlets, and periodicals in 15 languages. Coverage: 1543 to 1945.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Contains books and scholarly journals digitized from libraries around the world covering many topics and languages. Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with NetID
Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with UNM NetID.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
An eclectic open collection including millions of books, government documents, films, software, music, archived websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary source material such as letters, diaries, newspapers, maps and photographs, sound recordings of personal accounts of events, and streaming historic films. Subjects include American national and local history, African American history, world history, performing arts, government, law & politics, art & architecture, and extensive collection of New Mexico and Western materials. Coverage: 1580-current.

New Mexico's Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital images of state, national, and international collections held by New Mexico cultural heritage institutions, including The University of New Mexico. Collections contain documents, photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, art, interviews, and music.

Photography Collections
The University of New Mexico Art Museum’s permanent photography collection includes some 10,000 photographs (by over 1,000 different photographers) and early cased objects, spans the entire history of the medium and constitutes, along with the print collection, the heart of the museum’s holdings.