Research Guides: Nineteenth Century Photography: Databases and Articles

Best bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database includes scholarly journal articles from a variety of international peer-reviewed journals covering art, architecture, and design. Coverage: 1880-present. Art Full-Text has been subsumed into this database.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes international arts publications, including reproductions of artworks. Includes architecture, design, museology, and photography. Coverage: 1929 to 1984
OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
A free open access database that brings together data from 1910-2007, from American and French art historians and librarians from the Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA), the International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA), and the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Researchers may freely search OpenBibArt in French or English to discover a wide range of citations from among nearly 1.2 million journal articles, books, and exhibition and auction sales catalogs published between 1910 and 2007 on topics in the arts and archeology from late Antiquity to the mid-2000s.
additional vendors are Institut national d’histoire de l’art (INHA), and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS)
BHA - Bibliographie de l'Histoire d'Art/Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Combines the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire de la literature de l'art (RILA), providing an extensive bibliography of the history of Western art. Coverage: 1975 to 2007.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to journals, books, magazines,and other published humanities sources from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage 1900s-present.

Search across multiple databases

ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search several ProQuest databases together.
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search several EBSCO databases together.

Reference

Harvard's Historic Photographic Processes
Explore Harvard's timeline of historic photographs/photographic processes
Daguerrian Society and the Daguerrotype
This website offers online photo galleries, historical information, a daguerrian bibliography, an illustrated description of the process, and 19th- and early 20th-century texts.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and many leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, and video.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to crucial art resources, including images and newly updated articles. Includes the full Grove Dictionary of Art (ed. Jane Turner, 34 vols.), Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (ed. Michael Kelly).
5-concurrent users.

Still can't find it?

If the UNM libraries don't have the item, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL services are available only to UNM students, faculty, and staff.