The Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections (CSWR) invites the community to Love in the Archives on Thursday, February 13, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Frank Waters Room at Zimmerman Library. This annual Valentine’s Day open house celebrates history, culture, and communication with light refreshments and arts and crafts.
This year’s theme, Then and Now, explores how art, technology, and communication have transformed over time, reflecting the ever-evolving nature of human creativity and innovation. Visitors will have the opportunity to step back in time and examine historical artifacts alongside their modern counterparts. From drawings to completed masterpieces, the first use of computers in art to AI generated art, the evolution of the campus library at UNM, and changing attitudes toward content in public television, this year’s collections will highlight how the past continues to shape the present.
“At our upcoming Love in the Archives event, we are excited to show you the true power of archives in a world where old and new mix together. Each new idea builds upon the work of previous ideas so that innovation is constant. By looking at the past and present side-by-side we can see how art, technology, and even lives progressed and evolved,” said Portia Vescio, University Archivist.
This year Love in Archives aims to honor the life and passions of Dr. Harold Bailey, Albuquerque NAACP president and prominent UNM educator, who passed away recently. Dr. Bailey’s archives are in the CSWR and some items from his collection will be on display to show how he advocated for causes throughout his life. To learn more about the life of Dr. Bailey in his own words, you can watch his oral history video.
Love in the Archives is a cherished annual event showcasing CSWR’s extensive collection of historical and digital memorabilia, offering a unique glimpse into the cultural shifts that define our shared history. This year, in addition to the in-person event, an online exhibit will be available for virtual exploration at goto.unm.edu/lita2025.
Don't miss this opportunity to celebrate the evolution of human connection and creativity. Whether you're a history enthusiast, an art lover, or simply curious about the past, Love in the Archives, promises a fascinating journey through time.
0 Comments.