Please let us know if you have suggestions for additional resources, to report a broken link, or provide other feedback.
This research guide is a sample collection of interdisciplinary resources pertaining to Basic Needs. Included are informative research and news articles and reports detailing findings on food/housing insecurity, cost of higher education, academic success, and more. Use this guide as a starting point for more in-depth research and understanding of this highly relevant topic.
Credit for the compilation and organization of these resources goes to Cassidy Tawse-Garcia and Adrian Allocca. Credit for maintaining this guide goes to Adrienne Warner.
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
This link opens in a new windowAn index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Citations, abstracts, and full text access to information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, summaries of systematic reviews, reports from health technology assessment organizations, economic evaluations of health care interventions, and more. Updated quarterly.