Research Guides: Astronomy: Start Here

Databases for Finding Articles

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals This link opens in a new window
Search scientific and technical literature for astronomy, astrophysics, and physics with archival access to select titles. Coverage 1975-present with selected earlier works.

ARIBIB
Astronomy bibliography covering 1899 to 2000. ARIBIB = Astronomisches Rechen-Institut BIBliographical Database for Astronomical References

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access pre-print articles for Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. Established 1991.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the North American and international geoscience literature including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present.

Reference Sources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Reference data related to chemistry, physics, astronomy, mathematics, and other fields of science.

PDS: Planetary System Data
Scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
Weisstein's World of Astronomy
Encyclopedia of astronomy maintained by Eric Weisstein and sponsored by Wolfram Research.

Tech Reports, Dissertations, and Theses

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library) This link opens in a new window
A collection of United States government technical reports, scientific reports, proceedings, technical papers and government documents. Coverage: 1900-present.
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.

Physics & Astronomy Department Theses and Dissertations
Electronic theses and dissertations from UNM. Select theses and all dissertations completed since 2010 are available (unless embargoed). Older works are being added on a regular basis. You may also ask that a specific title be digitized.

Meet with a Librarian

Meet with a librarian - We have dedicated librarians available to provide in-depth library and research support.

Undergrads: Schedule a consultation.
Graduate students, Faculty, & Professionals: Request a consultation. We'll schedule with you by email.

Or,

Submit a Question! - we'll reply by email
Send us a text! - Our SMS number is 505-431-4711. We'll respond by text ASAP (while we're open!). All your usual data rates and policies apply.
Chat with Us! - when we're online, you'll find the chat icon on every page.

Astronomy: Start Here