Research Guides: Tax & Accounting: Tax & Legal Resources

Tax Resources

Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary tax literature on both state and federal levels including legislation, court cases, various analysis tools and commentaries. Coverage: 1930-present.

Federation of Tax Coordinators (state level)
An organization of state tax authorities and administrators. It provides research and information exchange, training, and intergovernmental and interstate coordination.

Black's Law Dictionary 11th Edition
Searchable law dictionary. After entering database select "Secondary Sources" in center of page, then Black's is listed on far right side.

Understanding Taxes - Glossary (IRS)
A general glossary of tax terms from the Internal Revenue Service.
Glossary of Tax Terms (OECD)
A detailed glossary from the international Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to legal periodicals, the Federal Register, Supreme Court decisions, and U.S. treaties.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Access to federal & state court cases, annotated statues/codes, administrative law, and regulations. It also includes law reviews, local, national & international news sources, and trade journal. Coverage: 1790-present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and extensive full text of articles from law review, journals, magazines, and trade publications.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Collection of congressional documents, regulations, laws, legislative histories. Coverage: 1789-present.

New Mexico Unannotated Code
The source lacks annotations which serves as a brief summary of the law and the facts of a case and demonstrates how a particular law enacted by NM legislature is interpreted and applied. Annotations usually follow the text of the statute they interpret in annotated statutes.

FindLaw: Tax Law
Legal BitStream
Source for free federal tax law research. Comprehensive and timely.
Guide to Taxation Law
WashLaw: Legal Research
From Washburn Law School