Latin American Collections (Archival)

is a collection of prints, posters, and mural stencils created by a collective of young Mexican artists that formed during the state of Oaxaca's 2006 teachers strike. Themes include land rights, political prisoners, government corruption, political violence, police brutality, violence against women, art exhibitions, nationalization of agriculture and oil. Items digitally produced on the ASARO webpage are also archived through ArchiveIt

Catron Land Grant Cases are files relating to land grants from the law office of Thomas B. Catron. They cover Spanish and Mexican land grants in New Mexico and Arizona that were brought before the U.S. Court of Private Land Claims, 1891-1903.

is comprised of 149 digital book covers published between 1916 and 1967. These are covers of physical books that have been cataloged and preserved in CSWR’s special collections. The book covers represent graphic art for fiction and non-fiction titles. Many of the books deal with themes of the Mexican Revolution of 1910. Cover artists' signatures include: Monte Negro, J. Blacio, Acav., Antonio Casero, FAG, and TAOF.

collection, compiled by noted Mexican art historian Fernando Gamboa, consists of lithographs, etchings, and engravings by José Guadalupe Posada. Posada, known as "the artist of the Mexican people," worked as an illustrator and commercial artist. His work has influenced many Latin American artists and cartoonists because of its satirical acuteness and political engagement.

contains posters produced mostly in the US and Latin America. American posters provide examples of advertising by the American motion picture industry in the mid- twentieth century. The film posters from Mexico range in date from the 1930s to 2005 and cover a wide range of topics, from comedy, romance, and drama to politics. The collection also includes cine club pamphlets from Uruguay.

Jane Norling and Lenora Davis Poster Collection was collected from Cuba, Nicaragua, and Mexico by Jane Norling and Lenora Davis. The posters were produced by various agencies and address subjects such as film, solidarity with the struggles of Third World countries, labor, tourism, disease prevention, women, energy conservation, the Vietnam War, and the Cuban Revolution.

consists of portraits of John D. Robb and family, friends, and numerous musicians, conductors, singers, and dance performers. There are many photos of orchestras, some in South America. Other photographs show equipment and demonstrations of electronic music, Comanche dancers and Matachines performances in both New Mexico and Mexico.

contains several series: Mexican health, hygiene, and safety posters from 1957; Puerto Rican Medina 1970s political caricatures; slides of political billboards, signs, graffiti and protests in Nicaragua and Grenada from the 1980s; nineteenth-century Mexican loteria cards; and book covers from Mexican publisher Botas, 1920s-1960s.

consists mostly of card-mounted photographs of mining in Mexico ca. 1890-1895, including views of San Augustin, La Luz, Potrero, La Barranca, La Dura, Minas Prietas and Trinidad.

colonial documents in this digital collection comprise a part of the Van de Velde Collection. They relate to colonial events primarily in Mexico City and Oaxaca. They are essential pieces of the historical and cultural record of the church and state and their research value extends to genealogical, anthropological, art historical, ecumenical, and ethnographic research within and beyond the states of Mexico and Oaxaca. The collectioncontains Nahuatl manuscripts and evidence of other indigenous Mexican cultures. Additional documentation includes property disputes, birth, death and marriage records and colonial legislation

contains prints depicting various precolumbian sites of Meso-America. Several significant architectural structures, today reconstructed, are shown prior to excavation and reconstruction. Locales included are Acambalam, Chiapas, Chichén-Itzá, Chunkanab, Hochab, Isla de Mujeres, Mitla, Nancuchich, Oaxaca, Palenque, Tantah, Tchpich, Uxmal, Xcakochna, Xkichmol, Xlottsal and Yucatan

consists of photographs and photomechanical postcards related to the punitive expedition led by General Pershing into Mexico in 1916. Formats include snapshots printed on postcard paper, and commercial "real photo" and photomechanical postcards. Depicted are: photographs of Gen. Pershing and Gen. Villa, images of the Thirteenth Cavalry, soldiers and officers, army camp and field life, military parades, mess halls, maneuvers, artillery, transport, firing squads, mass burials.

contains posters from all over Latin America and Iberia. Those from Bolivia, Brazil, Cuba, El Salvador, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Panama, Nicaragua, and Spain have been digitized. Many others are not yet digitized but they are also available at UNM. They address themes such as elections, imperialism, solidarity, human rights, and revolution.

consists of 110 stereographs which portray early 20th-century Mexico. Urban and rural areas are depicted. Attention has been given to railroads, mining, bullfighting, and public spaces and structures such as aqueducts, theaters, churches, and markets.

consists of posters, fliers, prints, serials, calendars and note cards that focus on international issues of the 1940s-1960s, including fascism and national socialism, in addition to Mexican topics such as agriculture, labor issues and the nationalization of the petroleum industry.

contains a sampling of digitized materials from CSWR manuscript collections. Manuscripts provide primary source materials emphasizing the political and social history of New Mexico, and to a lesser extent, the Southwest and Mexico. Over 1300 collections, mostly dating from the 19th and 20th centuries, include the papers and records of politicians, historic and literary figures, activists, attorneys, local families, organizations, and businesses. Material types represented in the collections are diverse. They include oral histories, scrapbooks, diaries, correspondence, literary manuscripts, unpublished reports, financial records, and legal documents. It also contains a sampling of images from pictorial and music collections.