Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese: Media (Audio, Visual)

Audio Visual Stuff

Dance Online: Dance in Video 1 This link opens in a new window
Streaming dance videos including dance productions, documentaries, editorials, and interviews of influential performers and companies. Includes a wide range of genres and ability to search by people, instruments, ensemble, time period, venue, and more. 3 concurrent users.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search World Languages (Spanish & Portuguese) for great historical and cultural material on Spanish and Portuguese speaking cultures, typically in Spanish and Portuguese
NOTE: Search results include film segment titles as well as film titles. To search film titles only, use the ALL FORMATS filter.

UNM CSWR Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, ca. 1970-2000
contains posters from all over Latin America and Iberia. Those from Bolivia, Brazil, Cuba, El Salvador, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Panama, Nicaragua, and Spain have been digitized. Many others are not yet digitized but they are also available at UNM. They address themes such as elections, imperialism, solidarity, human rights, and revolution.
UNM CSWR Fernando Gamboa Collection of Prints by José Guadalupe Posada
collection, compiled by noted Mexican art historian Fernando Gamboa, consists of lithographs, etchings, and engravings by José Guadalupe Posada. Posada, known as "the artist of the Mexican people," worked as an illustrator and commercial artist. His work has influenced many Latin American artists and cartoonists because of its satirical acuteness and political engagement
UNM CSWR John Donald Robb Field Recordings
The John Donald Robb Field Recordings consist of Hispanic, Native American, and Anglo music recorded between 1942-1979 in different parts of New Mexico. The collection contains Hispanic folk music such as alabados, pastores, and decimas. Additionally, Native American chants and dances, as well as Anglo cowboy and frontier ballads are represented in the collection.
Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet: A Guide to Web Resources by Jesús Alonso-Regalado (SUNY Albany)
this excellent research guide brings together a selection of web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the great variety and diversity of Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet.

Interested in Audio Manuscripts

For Heritage Learners, the CSWR offers many audio files of New Mexican Spanish speakers. I'm happy to help you, or you can contact the CSWR directly. Check out these collections:

Enrique Lamadrid Collection of Folk Songs, Oral Histories and Photographic Projects Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Edwin Berry Oral History Interviews and Songs Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Garland Bills and Neddy Vigil New Mexico-Colorado Spanish Survey Records Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Hermandad de Nuestro Padre de Jesus Semana Santa Songbooks Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Juan S. Lucero and Lora L. Chavez Collection of New Mexico Hispanic Religious and Traditional Songs Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Richard B. Stark Collection of New Mexico Religious Songs Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.