Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese: Books

El Laberinto

Digitalia This link opens in a new window
ebooks and eJournals published in Spain, the Caribbean, and Latin America in a wide variety of subject areas.
Teatro Espaol del Siglo de Oro This link opens in a new window
Digital editions of works (848 ebooks) by 16 major authors Spanish, Golden Age writers, including Lope de Vega, Miguel de Cervantes, Caldern de la Barca, and Tirso de Molina.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This digitized collection of US Hispanic history, literature, and culture and provides access to Spanish content with some English content gathered by the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project. It is a great example of community archiving.Coverage: colonial times to 1960
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Information about North America, Central America, South America, the Arctic, Antarctica, and the West Indies, published across the globe.This collection of many hard-to-find primary sources covers society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions, at home and abroad.
As well, included are original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the Western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery, and abolition. Coverage: 1500 to 1926.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Contains books and scholarly journals digitized from libraries around the world covering many topics and languages. Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with NetID
Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with UNM NetID.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library is a cooperative project of the Library of Congress, the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and partner libraries, archives, and educational and cultural institutions from the United States and around the world. The project brings together on a single website rare and unique documents – books, journals, manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, films, and sound recordings – that tell the story of the world’s cultures. The site is intended for general users, students, teachers, and scholars.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
tiene una gran cantidad de documentos textuales y audiovisuales que le permitirán acercarse, entre otros, a espacios tan diversos como la literatura gauchesca, la cultura hispana en Estados Unidos o la creación brasileña; al mundo barroco de sor Juana Inés de la Cruz o a la realidad más contemporánea en la poesía de Mario Benedetti; a destacados acervos como la Biblioteca José Toribio Medina de Chile, los Fondos reservados de la Biblioteca Nacional de México o los Manuscritos de América en las Colecciones Reales; al pensamiento del libertador Bolívar o al de los grandes nombres del exilio español en América.
Biblioteca Virtual de la Filología Española
This open access directory contains more than 8000 links to digitized works: diccionarios, gramáticas, libros de historia de la lengua, de ortografía, ortología, prosodia, métrica, diálogos, etc.

Bibliographies and Indexes for finding more

HLAS Online This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected in the social sciences and humanities and annotated by scholars
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of disciplinary perspectives for Latin American and Latina/Latino contemporary and historical studies, including sociology, economics, anthropology, political science.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the Hispanic minority in the United States. Brings a multifaceted approach to the understanding of a people whose roots are all over the Americas.

Not Everything is Digital

In Spanish and Portuguese physical books are still the norm. If you find something you like, look at the books near it on the shelf. Surely there's another that's equally interesting. Check out Zimmerman's 3rd floor for these call numbers:

PC=Linguistics, PCPC3801-PC5498

PC4001-4071 Spanish Philology

PC4073--4977 Spanish Language

PC5001-5041 Portuguese Philology

PC5043-5498Portuguese Language

PQ = Spanish-language Literature, PQ6001-8929

PQ6007-PQ7011 Spain

PQ7070-7079 US and Canadian authors of Spanish works

PQ7296.A-Z–PQ8550.436 Latin American Literature

PQ9000-9999 = Portuguese-language Literature

PQ7880-7889.3 Brazil

PQ9000-9499 Portugal