FLC: 21st Century Health Challenges (ENGL110 / ARSC 198, Fall 2017)

The CDC is the leading national public health agency of the United States federal government, which aims to protect public health and safety through control and prevention of diseases and other health issues. The CDC website includes a wealth of content including basic background information about specific diseases/conditions, data, reports, and other resources.

The WHO is an agency of the United Nations, which focuses on public health issues worldwide. The WHO website includes general information about health topics, global health data, a strong collection of open access (free) publications, and much more.

A local New Mexico source for data and information on the state's priority public health issues. NM-IBIS provides access to data through multiple entry points, including by topic, community, or specific indicator.

The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program compares the health of counties across the U.S. to others within its own state and provides information resources for improving social, economic, and environmental factors that influence health. RWJF is the nation's largest philanthropy dedicated specifically to health.

This guide includes a collection of evidence-based reviews and findings from the Community Preventive Services Task Force, an independent panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies.

The USPSTF is an independent group of experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine, the goal of which is to improve the health of Americans through evidence-based recommendations about preventive services. This web platform provides recommendation reports for primary care providers as well as additional information designed specifically for health professionals and consumers.