English

Digital Primary Source Collections


In addition to the UNM Libraries' collection of printed books, the following databases offer full-text electronic access to historical English literature and literary criticism.

A current UNM ID is required for access.

 

British Literature:

Early English Books Online
Full text of nearly every book published in English up to 1700.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online
Full text of 180,000 books published in the U.K., 1701-1800

British Periodicals
Full text, 17th to 20th centuries. Source of historical fiction, essays, book reviews, etc.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Newspapers and pamphlets published in England, Scotland, and Ireland.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Wide range of topics related to British literature, particularly theater.

Eight Centuries (formerly Nineteenth Century Masterfile)
Searches across various databases of nineteenth-century primary sources.

19th Century British Library Newspapers
National, regional, and local newspapers published in Britain.

Twentieth-Century Drama
Great works by more than 300 English-language playwrights from around the world.

 

American Literature:

Early American Imprints Series
Full text of most books printed in British North America and the U.S. up to 1800.

American Drama, 1714-1915
Full text of historical American plays.

American Periodicals
Full text, 1741-1940. Source of historical fiction, essays, book reviews, etc.

Eight Centuries (formerly Nineteenth Century Masterfile)
Searches across various databases of nineteenth-century primary sources.

American West
Travel accounts, journals, periodicals, and more.

African-American Poetry
Full text of important works, 1746 to present.

Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry
Full text of 9,000 poems by 62 major poets.

North American Indian Drama
256 plays by 49 playwrights.

Twentieth-Century Drama
Great works by more than 300 English-language playwrights from around the world.

New York Times Historical
Full text, 1851 to 3 years ago. Source of historical fiction, essays, book reviews, etc.

 

Other English-language Literature:

African Writers Series
Full text of 250+ volumes of literature in English by African writers.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
15 million volumes from major research libraries. Includes many historical editions of British and American literature.