Research Guides: English: Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A resource of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations with main topics including literature, linguistics, language studies, rhetoric, composition, drama, theory, criticism, teaching, and publishing. Coverage: 1920s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage 1900s-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to journals, books, magazines,and other published humanities sources from around the world.
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, book reviews, and magazine articles on a wide range of literary topics as well as author biographies.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and collections of essays about the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). Publications are classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays and commentary on the careers and works of major literary figures. Coverage: 1800s to present
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at https://www.gale.com/databases/literature-criticism-online

MLA Tutorial

MLA International Bibliography Tutorial
This interactive tutorial will take you through finding articles in the MLA International Bibliography, which is the major database for English language and literature. It also covers using the advanced features of this database.