Research Guides: Biology 360L: General Botany: Databases

Recommended Databases for Botany Research

Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more.
Citation analysis tools are provided. Coverage 1926 to present
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A powerful multidisciplinary subscription database platform, with options to search within and across subset databases including the Core Collection (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), BIOSIS (Biological Abstracts), and Medline (NLM’s journal citation database, aka the majority of PubMed content). Excellent citation searching as well as forward and backward citation tracking capabilities.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
PubAg This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles related to the agricultural sciences. Subjects include nutrition, food safety & quality, animal & crop production & protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic & policy issues, and agricultural statistics.
Managed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Agricultural Library.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Particularly strong historical content. Indexed by scientific name for powerful species searching.

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Collection of life science research journals from independent society and organizational publishers. Subject coverage includes biology, ecology, environmental science, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
A large collection of digitized plant specimens, additionally includes plant taxonomic data, reference works, scientific research literature, and digitized primary sources (archival correspondence, diaries, illustrations, photographs).
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Includes peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, reports, and more. Coverage: 1935-present.

Evaluating Articles

Tips for Critically Evaluating Information Sources in Botany
A thorough set of tips to help get you started in analyzing botany information sources to decide which sources you want to use for your research project.