Research Guides: Women, Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies: Scholarly Articles & Journals

Search for a specific journal

Core Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Coverage: 1970-present.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Annual Reviews Electronic Journal & Archives This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to the full-text of all Annual Reviews titles. It publishes state-of-the-art reviews on important topics. It publishes most heavily in the sciences, but also publishes in the social sciences. Available to UNM NetID holders only.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A resource of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations with main topics including literature, linguistics, language studies, rhetoric, composition, drama, theory, criticism, teaching, and publishing. Coverage: 1920s-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage 1900s-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.

Core Journal Titles

The following journals are available online from UNM University Libraries. Some of these titles were selected by Women's Studies scholars in a survey conducted by the Women & Gender Studies Section of ACRL.

Feminist Media Studies "Feminist Media Studies provides a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies, with attention to the historical, philosophical, cultural, social, political, and economic dimensions and analysis of sites including print and electronic media, film and the arts, and new media technologies."
Feminist Studies Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Gender & Society Articles appearing in Gender & Society analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies GLQ publishes interdisciplinary scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Hypatia "Hypatia is a forum for cutting edge work in feminist philosophy."
Journal of the Motherhood Initiative JMI publishes scholarship on mothering-motherhood and ensures that this scholarship considers motherhood in an international context and from a multitude of perspectives including differences of class, race, sexuality, age, ethnicity, ability and nationality.
Journal of Women's History This journal is the first devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods.
Psychology of Women Quarterly "Psychology of Women Quarterly (PWQ) is a feminist, scientific, peer-reviewed journal that publishes empirical research, critical reviews and theoretical articles that advance a field of inquiry, teaching briefs, and invited book reviews related to the psychology of women and gender."
Sex Roles "Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. "
Signs Recognized as the leading international journal in women's studies, Signs has since 1975 been at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship.
Transgender Studies Quarterly TSQ "offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives."
Women's Studies International Forum "A bimonthly journal to aid the distribution and exchange of feminist research in the multidisciplinary, international area of women's studies and in feminist research in other disciplines. The policy of the journal is to establish a feminist forum for discussion and debate."