Water Resources

A modern, agile water data infrastructure, to share, integrate and improve the management of water data. This includes data on water quality, quantity and uses.

The collection contains historical source materials about rivers, irrigation, ecology, and the economic impact of water resources on communities in New Mexico, primarily along the Rio Grande. The material is from the collections of the Center for Southwest Research and the Map and Geographic Information Center, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

This site provides data and information on New Mexico's rivers and streams, groundwater, water quality, and many other water-related topics.

This guide from UNM Center for Southwest Research provides links to online resources, and finding aids for print resources.

"The State Engineer has authority over the supervision, measurement, appropriation, and distribution of all surface and groundwater in New Mexico, including streams and rivers that cross state boundaries." Publishes many reports.

New Mexico Office of the State Engineer map with metadata of water wells in NM.

This collection in WWDL contains historical source material about rivers, irrigation, ecology, and the economic impact of water resources on communities in New Mexico, primarily along the Rio Grande. The material is from the collections of the Center for Southwest Research and the Map and Geographic Information Center, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

Created in 1963 with responsibility for flooding problems in greater Albuquerque.It's purpose is to prevent injury or loss of life, and to eliminate or minimize property damage. AMAFCA does this by building and maintaining flood control structures throughout the Albuquerque area.

Provides water and wastewater services to the greater Albuquerque metropolitan area. It is the largest water and wastewater utility in New Mexico.

A regionally prominent center of expertise on water-related issues and training for environmental professionals, promoting fair, healthy and sustainable solutions to the challenges of water use in New Mexico and the southwest.

A research center in the School of Engineering. As an NSF CREST center, we are focused on increasing the participation of underrepresented minorities in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) professions while conducting cutting-edge research into technological and engineering-based solutions to problems with water and the environment.

The center researches and provides information to the public about water, natural resources and environmental issues, with a particular focus on New Mexico and the Southwest.

Research conducted to address water problems critical to New Mexico and the Southwest.

NM Resource Geographic Information System (RGIS) is New Mexico’s geospatial data clearinghouse, hosted and managed by the Earth Data Analysis Center at the University of New Mexico.

The Archive consists of collections from individuals and organizations that have been instrumental in the development of water resources in Colorado and the West. The archive is a join effort of the University Libraries and the Colorado Water Center.