COMM 1130 - Public Speaking

Libraries during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Please keep in mind that the COVID-19 pandemic impacts our normal services, hours, and spaces. 

Find the full text online

While searching in a database, look for the  icon. A new window will open, showing one of two possibilities:

Full text online -- takes you straight to the full-text of the article - yay!

No full text online --the Article Linker screen appears with this message: "Sorry, no online full-text holdings were found."  

Even if we don't have access to the full text online, you can usually still get the article you need! Just follow these steps:

  • Click on the "Login to Request this item" link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan or Library Express.  
  • You'll need to set up an account the first time you do this, but after that you can login and the form is already filled out for you to submit.
  • This works for books and journal articles. You will receive an email when the article is ready to download (or the book has arrived in the mail). 

COMM 1130 Tutorial

Take the COMM 1130 Library Tutorial to learn about authoritative information and credibility. Let's shifts the focus from seeking out who is an authority (which suggests there is a right or wrong answer)… to asking: Who are MY Authorities? (which focuses on individual purpose and context). This tutorial also walks you through our most popular database, and that may be particularly helpful when doing research for speeches.

Get Started with Background Information

If you are unfamiliar with your topic, you can probably find an overview in one of these resources (it's a good idea to know a little something* about the topic before you look for books and scholarly journal articles):

* 1-min rule:  You can talk about your topic for 1 minute uninterrupted, without consulting outside sources or repeating yourself.

Research your speech

Multidisciplinary Database

A great place to find a little bit of everything.

Current Issues Databases

Check out the following library resources for pro/con perspectives and hot topics.

Local Information

Social & Cultural Databases

Librarian

Alyssa Russo's picture
Alyssa Russo
Contact:
Centennial Library, L259B