Research Guides: Peace Engineering: Start Your Research

Meet with a Librarian

Meet with a librarian - We have dedicated librarians available to provide in-depth library and research support.

Undergrads: Schedule a consultation.
Graduate students, Faculty, & Professionals: Request a consultation. We'll schedule with you by email.

Or,

Submit a Question! - we'll reply by email
Send us a text! - Our SMS number is 505-431-4711. We'll respond by text ASAP (while we're open!). All your usual data rates and policies apply.
Chat with Us! - when we're online, you'll find the chat icon on every page.

Welcome!

This guide collects in one place a suite of interdisciplinary resources and tools related to topics connected to peace engineering. As you begin to work on innovative projects intended to tackle global challenges, this guide provides an excellent place to start your research. But it is not completely comprehensive. Librarians can connect you with even more resources tailored to your project and help you save time and effort. Feel free to schedule an appointment with a librarian online; see the "Meet with a Librarian" information in the left column for more details.

Key Databases

Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, standards, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1988-present.
ASCE's Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) This link opens in a new window
Access to most ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) journals. Citations and abstracts for ASCE conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards.
ASME Digital Library Journals and Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Access to most ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) journals and conference proceedings. Citations and abstracts for all ASME publications.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports about current issues and news in the United States. Coverage: 1991-present.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTIS comprehensive federal resource of high-quality government scientific, technical, engineering, and information (STEI) reports produced by or for federal agencies in hundreds of subject areas.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Refinitiv ESG via WRDS This link opens in a new window
The datasets covers Environmental, Social, and Governance score and performance. The ESG score covers 10 main themes including emissions, environmental product innovation, human rights, shareholders, etc. and measure a company’s relative ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness, based on company-reported data. Coverage: 2002 – present. Funded by the Anderson School of Management.
Access via WRDS requires a registered username and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.

Web Resources

United States Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace is a national, nonpartisan, independent institute, founded by Congress and dedicated to the proposition that a world without violent conflict is possible, practical and essential for U.S. and global security. In conflict zones abroad, the Institute works with local partners to prevent, mitigate, and resolve violent conflict. To reduce future crises and the need for costly interventions, USIP works with governments and civil societies to build local capacities to manage conflict peacefully. The Institute pursues its mission by linking research, policy, training, analysis and direct action to support those who are working to build a more peaceful, inclusive world.
Strategic Intelligence
The World Economic Forum developed Strategic Intelligence to help leaders understand the global context around issues in order to make informed decisions. More than 1,000 publications scanned per day from more than 250 carefully selected think tanks and research institutes, synthesized by machine learning.
Institute for Economics and Peace
A research organization that develops global and national indices, calculates the economic cost of violence, and analyzes country-level risk and fragility. Its research reports are used extensively by governments, academic institutions, think tanks, non‑governmental organizations and by intergovernmental institutions.

Selected Scholarly Journals

International Journal of Engineering, Social Justice & Peace
IJESJP examines the relationships between engineering practices and their local contexts and promotes community empowerment through engineering problem solving, broadly conceived. The journal serves practicing engineers, engineering educators, and a general audience that seeks to better understand the progressive potential of engineering. The journal is peer reviewed, and the peer-review process is designed accommodate scholars as well as engineering practitioners and other interested parties.
Technological Forecasting and Social Change
Articles, technical notes and commentary dealing with the methodology and practice of technological forecasting as a planning tool, or analysis of the interaction of technology with the social, behavioral and environmental aspects in planning.
Conflict Management and Peace Science
eatures original & review articles focused on news & events related to the scientific study of conflict & peace.
Journal of Engineering and Public Policy
This journal publishes the works of engineering students participating in the Washington Internships for Students of Engineering (WISE) program. For more info on WISE, visit their website: https://wise-intern.org/

Selected Book Titles

Find more titles on this topic in this library catalog. [This link will automatically run a relevant search in the catalog.]

War and Peace and War: the Life Cycles of Imperial Nations by Peter Turchin
Call Number: JC359 .T87 2006
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Historical Dynamics by Peter Turchin
Call Number: D16.25 .T87 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-19
Secular Cycles by Peter Turchin; Sergey A. Nefedov
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2009-08-09
Complex Population Dynamics by Peter Turchin
Call Number: QH352 .T83 2003
Publication Date: 2003-02-16

Related Research Guides

Civil Engineering
by Holly Surbaugh Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 44 views this year
Mechanical Engineering
by Holly Surbaugh Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 99 views this year
Biological Engineering
by Holly Surbaugh Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 43 views this year
Chemical Engineering
by Holly Surbaugh Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 91 views this year
Nuclear Engineering
by Holly Surbaugh Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 111 views this year
Community & Regional Planning
by Stephanie Beene Last Updated Sep 6, 2024 670 views this year