You may want to repeat your search in many databases for more comprehensive results.
Take advantage of others' bibliographies! Once you find one good article, scroll to the bottom and mine the reference list. It's a great place to find like-minded articles and scholars.
From a library database, click on . A new window will open, there are two broad possibilities:
View Full Text -- takes you straight to the full-text of the article - yay!
We were unable to find any links to this item --the screen appears with this message
In order to find scholarly or refereed journal articles through the University Libraries, you need to identify the appropriate database that indexes scholarly articles in your discipline, then search that database. Choose the Databases box and the by Subject menu on the library home page to find related databases.
Please make use of the Subject list of databases, but if you want some quick picks to start searching for peer-reviewed journal articles:
Multidisciplinary (Start here if in doubt)
Sciences & Engineering
When you use AND, you are telling the database that you want articles that have BOTH terms somewhere in the article. Use AND to join separate concepts in your search:
college students AND resilience
Use OR to tell the database that you want articles that have EITHER term in the article. Use OR with parentheses and finds articles about related terms or synonyms.
(drug use OR substance abuse)
(children OR adolescents)
Construct a search
(teenagers OR adolescents) AND (alcohol OR binge drinking OR substance abuse)
If you want to retrieve articles with a specific phrase (two words or more) use double quotes. For example…
“New Mexico” AND Medicaid
The double quotes inform the database that you want articles with that exact phrase.