Research Guides: Map and Geographic Information Center (MAGIC): Online Map Resources

Map Databases

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Map various demographic and socioeconomic variables from United States Census, Statistics Canada, UK Data Centre, and Eurostat. Download maps/data. Coverage: 1790-present.
Users must create and log into your personal account on Social Explorer.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Visualize and map thousands of socioeconomic variables covering the United States (local to national). Create reports on specific Census geographies. Download reports, data, and maps. Coverage: 2000-present.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
A uniform series of large-scale maps, depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of some twelve thousand cities and towns in the United States. Various locations in New Mexico were mapped from 1891 to 1957, print versions are in MAGIC.
Today, the Sanborn maps are often used for historic research of buildings and neighborhoods. Coverage: 1867 to 1963.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the North American and international geoscience literature including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present.

BTAA Geospatial Data Project
Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) provides users with a centralized point of discovery and access for digital geospatial resources from multiple clearinghouses and library catalogs. NOTE: Some items are only available to Big Ten universities' members.

National Geographic Virtual Library Archives This link opens in a new window
Digitzed archive of this popular magazine includes articles, photos, and map supplements. Coverage 1888-1994.

The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project
The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED) is a disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project. ACLED collects the dates, actors, locations, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events around the world. The ACLED team conducts analysis to describe, explore, and test conflict scenarios, and makes both data and analysis open for free use by the public.

ACLED is a registered non-profit organization with 501(c)(3) status in the United States.
Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections
The Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections is a directory of map collections, big and small, across the United States.

This initiative is a project of the Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT) of the American Library Association.
American Panorama: An Atlas of United States History
American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps.
more...less...
Includes maps of Redlining and Inequality, overland trails, Land Acquisition and Dispossession, etc.
Not Even Past: Social Vulnerability and the Legacy of Redlining
This site juxtaposes these maps from the 1930s with contemporary health disparities.

Bureau of Business and Economic Research (BBER)
New Mexico Traffic Safety Data
Earth Data Analysis Center (EDAC)
NM Resource Geographic Information System (RGIS)
NM Resource Geographic Information System (RGIS) is New Mexico’s geospatial data clearinghouse, hosted and managed by the Earth Data Analysis Center at the University of New Mexico.
New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources (NMBGMR)
New Mexico Department of Transportaion (NMDOT)
New Mexico Archives Online
New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) provides access to finding aids for archival collections from 19 repositories across the state of New Mexico. The finding aids include information on the contents, historical context, creation, and organization of materials in the collections.
New Mexico Digital Collections
New Mexico Digital Collections is the central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico. A service of the University of New Mexico Libraries, we provide access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state.