Research Guides: Linguistics: Home

Social Sciences Librarian

Liz Cooper

Email Me

Contact:

Zimmerman Library, 2nd Floor, Herzstein Latin American Reading Room, #296
Liz Cooper's Website

Subjects: Anthropology & Archaeology, Global and National Security Policy, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Sociology, Speech & Hearing, Women & Gender Studies

Best place to find linguistics articles

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This is the database most focused on linguistics related topics. Start here for most topics related to linguistics, language, and the pathology of speech, hearing and language. Includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and book/media reviews in over 300 languages. (1973-present)

LLBA TUTORIAL
Checkout the UNM LIbrary's tutorial on how to best use and search LLBA.

Other places to find linguistics related articles

These databases provide some coverage of linguistics related articles. They often cover not only the journal literature but also include book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Depending on your topic, you may want to try:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Focused on the areas of communication and mass media
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
From the Modern Language Association and focused on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
THE database to use for any topic related to psychology -- if your topic has a psychological aspect, try searching here.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focused on articles and literature related to sociology.
Annual Reviews Electronic Journal & Archives This link opens in a new window
Search the new "Annual Review of Linguistics" (note that until 2015 linguistics was included in anthropology - so search the "Annual Review of Anthropology" also). This is a unique resource that consists solely of literature reviews written by top scholars about key topics in a field.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Focused on articles related to all levels of education (primary, secondary, higher, etc.)
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Another great tool to find articles related to education.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Focused on anthropology (which also includes aspects of linguistics).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier biomedical database for accessing the biomedical literature on a topic.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature and information, including evidence-based care sheets.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Spanish and Portuguese-language portal for scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities on Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Coverage: 1960-present.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Former Name: Bibliography of Native North Americans. This resource covers all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life. It covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Includes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. A research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers.
Coverage dates: 16th century-present.

Also try searching for linguistics related topics in other subject discipline databases that might relate to your topic (e.g. search for "political discourse" in the political science database, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts).

If your topic relates to health, medicine or biological disorders, try one of the health sciences databases.
If your topic relates to other languages and regions of the world, try searching in some of the area studies databases. Examples include the Spanish & Portuguese related databases.
Also try multidisciplinary databases like:
- Google Scholar (use this UNM link to Google Scholar to seamlessly access articles to which UNM subscribes)
- Academic Search Complete
For dissertations related to linguistics search in the dissertation database Proquest Dissertation & Theses Global Full Text.

Consult Liz Cooper (cooperliz@unm.edu), the Social Sciences Librarian for linguistics, with any questions.

Linguistics Call Numbers

P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
P1-85 General
P87-96 Communication. Mass media
P94.7 Interpersonal communication
P95-95.6 Oral communication. Speech
P98-98.5 Computational linguistics. Natural language processing
P99-99.4 Semiotics. Signs and symbols P99.5-99.6 Nonverbal communication
P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar.
P118-118.75 Language acquisition
P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics)
P201-299 Comparative grammar
P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric
P302-302.87 Discourse analysis
P306-310 Translating and interpreting
P321-324.5 Etymology
P325-325.5 Semantics
P326-326.5 Lexicology
P327-327.5 Lexicography
P375-381 Linguistic geography
P501-769 Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology
P901-1091 Extinct ancient or medieval languages

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by R. E. Asher (Editor); J. M. Simpson (Editor)
Call Number: Zimm Closed Access Towers, P29 E48 1994
1993, 10 vols.

Native Languages: UC Berkeley Linguistics Dept. Reports

Survey Reports, Survey of California & Other Indian Languages
Check out the reports on this site! UC Berkely established the first linguistics department in North America (i1901), and has a distinguished tradition of rigorous linguistic documentation. Its original mission, due to the anthropologist Alfred Kroeber and the Sanskrit and Dravidian scholar Murray B. Emeneau, was the recording and describing of unwritten languages, especially American Indian languages spoken in California and elsewhere in the United States. The current Department of Linguistics continues this tradition, integrating careful, scholarly documentation with cutting-edge theoretical work in phonetics, phonology and morphology; syntax, semantics, and pragmatics; psycholinguistics; sociolinguistics and anthropological linguistics; historical linguistics; typology; and cognitive linguistics.