Research Guides: International Studies: Country Profiles

Country Profiles: In-Depth

Try these first:

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of territories, countries, and global regions.Includes contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Coverage: 2006-present.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes great histories of countries -- books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.

You may also want to try:

Country Reports - MarketLine
Reports in Business Source Complete from Marketline and others.
NOTE: In first search box replace "Brazil" with your country

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Current and historical research collection of corporate and industry related documents, such as, annual and industry reports, industry ratios, equity reports, Bond Records, Commodity Yearbook, Moody's Corporate & Municipal Manuals, country reports. Coverage 1905-present.

World Governance Indicators
The WGI reports cover six aggregate governance indicators... 1) Voice and Accountability, 2) Political Stability and Absence of Violence, 3) Government Effectiveness, 4) Regulatory Quality, 5) Rule of Law, and 6) Control of Corruption
Global Finance: Country Data
The magazine provides an overview of each country with information gathered from various statistical agencies. Also, checkout the Global Data tab on site.
World Cities Culture Forum
It provides a way for policy makers in 32 key cities to share research and intelligence, and explore the vital role of culture in their future prosperity. Includes data and reports.

Countries and Their Cultures (2003)
(ebook) Focused on countries, so find the country of your group, then in the chapter on that country for your group do a CTRL+F search for your culture group. Some of the info you need may be in the "Marriage, Family, Kinship, " "Gender Roles and Statuses," and "Socialization" sections of the chapters.

Transparency International
"Our Mission is to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society." The site includes the Corruption Perceptions Index.
World Happiness Report
An annual publication of the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network. It contains articles, and rankings of national happiness based on respondent ratings of their own lives, which the report also correlates with various life factors.

Country Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Digitized books that provide descriptions and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, and political systems and institutions of 80+ countries. Originally sponsored by the U.S. Army and written by researchers affiliated with the LoC’s Federal Research Division. Coverage: 1986-2015.

World Education Encyclopedia (2002)
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems.

World Values Survey
Some data and analysis from survey of public beliefs, about 70 countries.
World Religions from BBC
An overview of 20 major world religions.

CIA World Factbook
Basic information (just the facts) on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
BBC News: Country Profiles
Profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
US State Dept: Countries
Overview of countries, US Embassies and more.
Eldis: Country Profiles
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues.
GapMinder
It uses its videos and data visualization tools to help people better understand statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.

Country Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Digitized books that provide descriptions and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, and political systems and institutions of 80+ countries. Originally sponsored by the U.S. Army and written by researchers affiliated with the LoC’s Federal Research Division. Coverage: 1986-2015.