Home - HMHV 1110 – Social Contours of Health - Research Guides at University of New Mexico

Or,

Submit a Question! - we'll reply by email
Send us a text! - Our SMS number is 505-431-4711. We'll respond by text ASAP (while we're open!). All your usual data rates and policies apply.
Chat with Us! - when we're online, you'll find the chat icon on every page.

Find scholarly journal articles

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.

Tips for searching databases

Keep it simple - limit your first searches to two or three keywords.
Use the built in limiters - like date or era or peer-reviewed or language.
Search variations of your search terms/synonyms, i.e., drug abuse, drug use, substance abuse, addiction, illegal drugs.
Use Boolean operators: AND (narrows search, joins different concepts) OR (broadens search, joins similar concepts)

Get Started with Background Information

For background information on a disease or health issue. (Note, these are NOT considered peer-reviewed journal articles, but they are credible sources.)

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical e-books, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes reference tools such as Diagnosaurus, medical calculators, drug information, guidelines, and exam/board prep tools.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A research starting point for students looking for background information to inform their topic. With millions of articles pulled from hundreds of books, Credo is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.

APA (American Psychological Association) Style

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab), APA Formatting & Style Guide
Great website with tips and examples on how to use the APA Style. This is a great place to start to find an overview of the style and examples (for detailed style information, consult the actual style guide above).
Basics of APA Style (Tutorial)
On the APA website.
Sample paper in APA Style (from APA)
Sample paper in APA Style (from OWL)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Reference: BF76.7 .P83 2020
The style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options

Visit the UNM CAPS Writing Center for additional help with citations.

Managing Your Citations

Citation manager software can help you manage the articles/citations/PDFs you gather as you research and can help you easily create properly formatted papers and bibliographies. The most popular citation manager software supported at UNM is:

- Free and cloud-based (but you can sync with your desktop). Visit the Zotero website to learn more.
- Visit the UNM Library's Zotero help pages for information on how to get started and tips on how to set it up to work in the UNM Libraries environment.

Other similar tools are available, to learn more visit this University of Washington Libraries webpage.