Geography and Environmental Studies (GES)

Key Library Resources

Finding Books, Articles & Data

Finding materials relevant to your research and studies can be a daunting task. With over 3 million books and subscriptions to thousands of journals, some in hardcopy but an increasing number in digital form we have a wide variety of tools and strategies to help you find what you need. The guidance provided below can help you navigate to the most useful resources that we have for accessing our holdings for GES. 

Guidance for Finding Books, Articles and Data

You can discover and access articles to use in your research in multiple ways:

  • Browsing through specific journals
  • Looking up specific articles based on citation information (for example from a bibliography in an article or book)
  • Searching databases using terms relevant to your research interest

To find a specific online journal that you would like to browse you can use our eJournal Finder to search by journal title. 

If you have the citation for an article and you would like to determine if we have access to it through our many subscriptions and collections you can use our Article Finder search tool to find it. 

If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind for your search you probably want to use one or more of the databases that we subscribe to to search for articles that are relevant to your research topic. Below are listed some of the key Geography databases that you might want to consider using as a starting point in your research. 

While  specific search options vary somewhat between databases, the following general guidelines are useful when composing your search terms:

Think about your topic and separate it into separate concepts

1) Vocabulary - Synonyms

2) Search construction - Boolean logic/Set theory

  • AND = Intersection of two sets
  • OR = Union of two sets

Connect synonyms with the 'OR' 

Connect separate concepts with 'AND'

3) Defining search phrases - Place phrases (i.e. words that occur together in a specific order) you want to search for in quotes to signal that the search should be executed as a phrase search instead of a search for a list of individual words. 

We have a large collection of both physical books and ebooks in our collections for your use. Most of them are discoverable through our campus' library catalogs, but some also appear in a number of specialized databases to which we subscribe. Core catalogs that you will want to use in your search for books include:

If you find a book that we don't have in our collections in either hardcopy or ebook form you can request it through out interlibrary loan service:

Geography is a discipline in which data play a key role in analysis and visualization. Listed below are some data resources that you might find useful.

Weather & Climate

Geospatial Data

Your Subject Librarian

Amy Jankowski's picture
Amy Jankowski
Contact:
Centennial Library -- Room L166
ajankowski@unm.edu
Website