Have you completed a research project in an undergraduate course? Then enter our 2025 Hulsman Award competition for cash prizes! Any format is welcome, including research papers, design portfolios, compositions, posters, film, digital projects, and more. If you used library or other information sources to inform your work, you could win!
The deadline to apply is Monday, February 17, 2025.
The Jim and Mary Lois Hulsman Undergraduate Library Research Award program recognizes excellence in undergraduate research that incorporates the use of University Libraries resources and demonstrates sophisticated information literacy skills. All UNM main campus undergraduate students are eligible.
Student award winners receive recognition and a cash prize:
Send questions to ugresearchaward@unm.edu.
Welcome! This guide is designed to help build your foundational understanding of key concepts and tools for the nuts-and-bolts practice of searching academic literature. It provides background information for my in-class presentation, and it will help you get started on your work for this class. Please reach out to me if you have any questions about this guide, its content, or library collections or services in general.
-- Holly Surbaugh, Librarian
In order to find scholarly or refereed journal articles through the University Libraries, you need to identify the appropriate database that indexes scholarly articles in your discipline, then search that database. Choose the Databases box and the by Subject menu on the library home page to find related databases.
You may find databases related specifically to your topic the most useful. However, here are some quick picks for databases to start searching. You can also search for alternate databases on topic guides using the list below.
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
This link opens in a new windowAn index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
You can check out a complete list of available research guides online.