Meet with a librarian - We have dedicated librarians available to provide in-depth library and research support.
Or,
Chat with Us! - when we're online, you'll find the chat icon on every page. NewspaperARCHIVE US Collection
good for local newspapers and comparing what you find with national coverage
searches ads and articles
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
good for national coverage of events, big city papers, includes NYT Historical (1851 - 3years ago)
also includes Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), LA Times (1881-1990), Washington Post 1887-1997), and African-American newspapers such as: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Chicago Defender 1910-1975), LA Sentinal (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and others
includes PDFs of each issue including ads
Advanced Search includes a limit for advertisements.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
has an Advertisements search limit under the "Article Types" tab
good for local African-American and Hispanic newspapers
does not include PDFs of pages or advertisements, only the HTML text of magazine articles
BBC Archive TV, radio, and more from the British Broadcasting Corporation
YouTube (search for specific TV ads - no metadata so you need to know what you want to find here before searching)
Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
AdViews thousands of TV commercials 1950s-1980s (from Duke Univ Digital Collections)
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (from Duke Univ Digital Collections)
Advertisements Online lists more websites to look for advertisements (from the "History Matters: The US Survey Course on the Web" by CUNY and George Mason U)
UVA Department of History, Doing Historical Research on the Web, includes links to many websites with primary source documents on a variety of history topics.