Research Guides: HIST 665 Advanced Research Methods (Spring 2019): Online Primary Sources

UNM Primary Resources

To see all the UNM LIbraries primary sources, filter databases by TYPE and select

19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digitizations of primary source documents and literature. Western and non-Western authors/languages included. Documents include monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry, and more. Includes the following collections: 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, 2) British Politics and Society, 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, 4) Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, 5) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, 6) Photography: The World Through the Lens, 7) Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925, 8) Women: Transnational Networks. Coverage: 1800s
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Digitized images, articles, documents, etc. exploring the African-American experience from African origins to the present in the United States. Coverage: 500CE-present.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary source material such as letters, diaries, newspapers, maps and photographs, sound recordings of personal accounts of events, and streaming historic films. Subjects include American national and local history, African American history, world history, performing arts, government, law & politics, art & architecture, and extensive collection of New Mexico and Western materials. Coverage: 1580-current.
Brazilian Government Documents Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government and its provincial governments.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Information about North America, Central America, South America, the Arctic, Antarctica, and the West Indies, published across the globe. This collection of important and many hard-to-find primary sources covers society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions both at home and abroad as well as original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the Western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery, and abolition. Coverage: 1500 to 1926
World Scholar Archives: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
This collection of articles, maps, statistics, audio, video, and primary documents supports undergraduate student research in Latin American and Caribbean history, politics, economics, sociology and culture.

Internet Primary Resources

Digital Collections - Library of Congress

The Library of Congress has an amazing collection of primary resources that has been digitized. The 270 + collections covers a broad range of topics related to US and world history, society, culture, art and architecture. It includes manuscripts, photographs, recordings (audio and video), maps and newspapers.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Many of these archives have digitized some of their collections so use website to identify a topic you are interested in and then go to the institutions to see what they have digitized.

Selected Primary Digital Resources in Medieval History

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Excellent resource.
Use the left hand navigation to pinpoint your subject area.
History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents [Euro Docs]
Euro Docs is open access sources to selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations covering European history. In addition to this section on Medieval and renaissance Europe, you can go to the Main Page of the site to see the full range of countries covered
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.
EyeWitness to History - The Middle Ages and Renaissance
This website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.
Please ignore the ads!