Primary Sources - UNM - HIST 665 Advanced Research Methods (Spring 2019) - Research Guides at University of New Mexico

Selected Primary Sources

19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digitization of primary source documents and literature, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, fiction, short prose, dramatic works, and poetry. 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, 2) British Politics and Society, 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, 4) Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, 5) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, 6) Photography: The World Through the Lens, 7) Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925, 8) Women: Transnational Networks. Coverage: 1800s
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
A collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Library. The AAS Library documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
This collection depicts early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects upon American Indian life.
Manuscripts, artwork, rare printed books, photographs, and newspapers tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Coverage:1500s-1900s.
American West This link opens in a new window
Material digitized from the Graff Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Includes unique manuscripts, broadsides, and other ephemera, maps, and rare printed works. Topics include the frontier, westward expansion, Native American history and culture, agriculture, travel journals, railway, transportation, and the gold rush. Coverage: 1722 to 1939
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and pamphlets covering the American Civil War.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other materials published in the English language. Search by title, author, or subject, or use advanced search to look for specific types of works (prose, recipes, songs, etc.), including illustration types (portraits, maps, etc.). Coverage dates: 1473-1700.
Early English Books Online: Text Creation Partnership This link opens in a new window
Transcriptions of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other materials published in the English language. Search by title, author, or subject, or use advanced search to look for specific types of works (prose, recipes, songs, etc.), including illustration types (portraits, maps, etc.). Coverage dates: 1473-1700.
Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural resource for information on women's studies and women's history with books, pamphlets, and periodicals in 15 languages. Coverage: 1543 to 1945.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Documents explore the history of fifteen major commodities in global trade. Documents include a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, etc. sourced from organizations around the world. Coverage: BCE-present.
Indigenous Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This resource contains scanned documents from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Documents include Indian school enrollment records, superintendent reports, land and water rights records of southwestern tribes Pueblo, Navajo and Apache.
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
This resource contains full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise family letter collections from The Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh Papers along with some searchable transcripts from the printed editions.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Diaries and letters of 1,325 women in over 400 books. Coverage: colonial times to 1950s.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Information about North America, Central America, South America, the Arctic, Antarctica, and the West Indies, published across the globe.This collection of many hard-to-find primary sources covers society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions, at home and abroad.
As well, included are original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the Western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery, and abolition. Coverage: 1500 to 1926.
Western Waters Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material. Coverage: 1800s-present.

UNM Digital Primary Resources

Link to all UNM primary resource databases. Use the > next to each database name to get more information about the scope of the collection.

Database Titles for Primary Source / Digitized Collections

Art as Primary Sources

ARTstor on JSTOR (content and accounts moved to JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Includes images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Related: JSTOR - now includes ARTstor content.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Index to medieval iconography and works of art, including manuscripts, metalwork, and paintings. Includes provenance information, bibliographical references, and photographic reproductions. Coverage: early apostolic to 1500s.