Home - HMHV 1101 – Social Contours of Health, Fall 2023 - Research Guides at University of New Mexico

Find scholarly journal articles

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.

Tips for searching databases

Keep it simple - limit your first searches to two or three keywords.
Use the built in limiters - like date or era or peer-reviewed or language.
Search variations of your search terms/synonyms, i.e., drug abuse, drug use, substance abuse, addiction, illegal drugs.
Use Boolean operators: AND (narrows search, joins different concepts) OR (broadens search, joins similar concepts)

Medical Reference/Textbooks

For background information on a disease. (Note, these are NOT considered peer-reviewed journal articles. These are just for background.)

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical e-books, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes reference tools such as Diagnosaurus, medical calculators, drug information, guidelines, and exam/board prep tools.

ASA (American Sociological Association) Style

In sociology, ASA Style is usually the preferred citation style for bibliographies and in-text citations (it is similar to APA Style). Here are some tools for learning about ASA Style:

Style Guide, 5th edition by American Sociological Association
Call Number: Zimmerman Reference, HM569.A54 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Consult this book for detailed guidelines on using ASA style. Try using the link to the Purdue OWL (below) first and if your question is not answered there, this guide will have more information.

Note: ASA Style Guide 7th Edition (2022) is on order 9/23 and should arrive soon.

Quick Tips for ASA Style
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab), References Page Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
Great website with tips and examples on how to use the ASA Style. This is a great place to start to find an overview of the style and examples (for detailed style information, consult the actual style guide above).

Visit the UNM CAPS Online Writing Center for additional help with citations.