Research Guides: Health Education: Articles & Journals

Best Databases for Health Education Research

Health education is an interdisciplinary topic, the research of which can delve into health sciences as well as life sciences and other related fields. The best database for your research will depend on your specific research topic and interests. No single database searches across all information sources, so it is recommended that you try to research your topic in more than one of the platforms linked below.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature and information, including evidence-based care sheets.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.

Find even more databases to search by browsing through the full database lists maintained by both the UNM Main Campus Libraries and the UNM Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center (HSLIC).

UNM Main Campus Libraries: Complete Database List
Browse the UNM Main Campus Libraries' database list by subject or database title.
Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center: Complete Database List
Browse the full list of health sciences databases maintained by UNM's HSLIC.

Journal Search

Use the search box below to locate a specific journal.

What can I do if the library does not own the article I need?

Current UNM student, faculty or staff members can utilize Interlibrary Loan, which:

Allows you to borrow materials from another library.
Books are held at the Zimmerman Service Desk.
Articles are posted to your ILLiad account.
Deliveries take 7-10 days depending on availability
Requests for journal articles are sent digitally to your UNM email, usually within 2-3 days