Research Guides: Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL): Journals

General SoTL Journals Available at UNM

Below is a list of selected SoTL journals available to the UNM community.

Many of these journals are open access and are open for anyone to view, while others (with the lock icon ) are subscription resources only accessible to the UNM community (i.e., if off-campus you will need to enter a UNM netid/password).

Each entry indicates if the journal is indexed by either of the two education databases the library subscribes to, ERIC or Education Research Complete. Search these databases to find articles in these journals (as well as other education related journals) by keyword, title, or author - note that not all years/volumes of an indexed journal may be included in the database.

Remember, if UNM does not have access to an article, we can try to get it from another library via our Interlibrary Loan service.

Active Learning in Higher Ed (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) An international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in Higher Education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal has an objective of improving the status of teaching and learning support as professional activity and embraces academic practice across all curriculum areas in higher education.
Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Indexed in ERIC) Trans-disciplinary, peer-reviewed, ejournal of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE). Focus on SoTL in Canadian post-secondary institutions. Provides an avenue for a wide range of educators to discuss ways of enhancing student learning experiences through systematic inquiry into teaching & learning in all disciplines. (Open Access)
Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching (CELT) (Indexed in ERIC) Published by the Society of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) (based in Canada). Encourages STLHE conference presenters to put the essence of their workshops, round table, and poster sessions in essay form for a wide readership interested in teaching improvement practices in higher education. (Open Access)
College Teaching (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) Provides an interdisciplinary academic forum on issues in teaching and learning at the undergraduate or graduate level. Publishes articles reporting scholarship on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, assessment and evaluation, and other instructional practices that have significance beyond a single discipline and short articles with techniques for addressing common classroom problems.
Enhancing the Learner Experience in Higher Education (Not indexed in the education databases.) International, peer-reviewed e-journal published twice yearly, addressing the challenge of enhancing learning in higher education. Explores innovations which impact student learning, and shares effective practice across different contexts. Aims to enhance the student experience of learning by an engaged commitment to the student voice. (Open Access)
Higher Education Research & Development (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) The principal learned journal of the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia (HERDSA). Informs and challenges researchers, teachers, administrators, policy-makers and others concerned with the past, present and future of higher education.
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Indexed in Education Research Complete) An international, peer-reviewed, open access eJournal that is published by the Center for Excellence in Teaching at Georgia Southern University (Statesboro, Georgia, USA). The Editorial Review Board is very international and issues contain research articles, essays, personal reflections, as well as invited essays on SOTL. There is an IJ-SOTL listserv for discussion of any and all things connected with SOTL. (Open Access)
International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) Provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. Provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the SoTL across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. (Open Access)
Journal of College Teaching & Learning (Indexed in ERIC) Publishes papers that significantly contribute to the understanding of all aspects of teaching and learning issues and related fields. Using a wide range of research methods including statistical analysis, analytical work, case studies, field research and historical analysis, articles examine significant research questions from a broad range of perspectives. (Open Access)
Journal of Effective Teaching (Indexed in ERIC) Peer reviewed ejournal devoted to the discussion of teaching excellence in colleges and universities. Contains articles related to effective teaching and the scholarship of teaching related to pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences. Articles which draw upon specific-discipline based research or teaching practices should elaborate on how the teaching practice, research or findings relates across the disciplines. (Open Access)
Journal of the Learning Sciences (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) One of the two official journals of the International Society of the Learning Sciences. Provides a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning as theoretical and design sciences. Publishes research that elucidates processes of learning, and the ways in which technologies, instructional practices, and learning environments can be designed to support learning in different contexts.
Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) Promotes SoTL investigations that are theory-based and supported by evidence. JoSoTL's objective is to publish articles that promote effective practices in teaching and learning and add to the knowledge base. The themes of the Journal reflect the breadth of interest in the pedagogy forum. The themes of articles include: data-driven studies, case studies, reviews, invited comments & essays. (Open Access)
Journal of University Teaching & Learning Practice (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) Peer-reviewed journal publishing papers that add to the body of knowledge describing effective and innovative teaching & learning practice in higher education. Provides a forum for educational practitioners in a wide range of disciplines to communicate their teaching and learning outcomes in a scholarly way. Aims to bridge the gap between journals covering academic research and more pragmatic articles. (Open Access)
Journal on Excellence in College Teaching (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete). This is a subscription resource and the Library only has access to a few years of its publication. Peer-reviewed journal published at Miami University by and for faculty at universities and colleges to increase student learning through effective teaching, interest in and enthusiasm for the profession of teaching, and communication among faculty about their classroom experiences.
MountainRise (Indexed in Education Research Complete) (The most recent issue of the journal appears to be from 2014.) A peer-reviewed, international electronic journal published twice a year by the Coulter Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning at Western Carolina University (USA). (Open Access)
New Directions for Teaching and Learning (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) UNM has access from 1997-present. Offers a range of ideas and techniques for improving college teaching based on the experience of seasoned instructors and the latest findings of educational and psychological researchers. Publishes results of empirical investigations as well as articles by practitioners who share disciplinary reflections about teaching.
Practice and Evidence of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Not indexed in the education databases.) This journal offers an opportunity for those involved in University learning and teaching to disseminate their practice. Publishes accounts of scholarly practice that report on small-scale practitioner research and case studies of practice in a way that is not just descriptive but involves reflection, critique and implications for future practice and are informed by relevant literature. Published twice a year. (Open Access)
Teaching and Learning Inquiry: The ISSOTL Journal (Not indexed in the education databases.) The International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning's (ISSOTL) official and only journal, which began in 2013, publishes research, theory, commentary, and other scholarly works that document or facilitate investigations of teaching and learning in higher education. It showcases the breadth of the interdisciplinary field of SoTL in its explicit methodological pluralism. (Open Access)
Teaching in Higher Education (Indexed in ERIC & Education Research Complete) Publishing scholarly work that critically examines and interrogates the values and presuppositions underpinning teaching, introduces theoretical perspectives and insights drawn from different disciplinary and methodological frameworks, and considers how teaching and research can be brought into a closer relationship.
Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal (Indexed in Education Research Complete) A forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. Facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in SoTL. The international dialogues are focused on improving faculty and, therefore, student learning, and critical thought processes. (Open Access)

Disciplinary SoTL Journals

Several universities have created webpages with links to disciplinary SoTL journals. Note that subscription journal links are often specific to each university and may not work for the UNM community, even if UNM subscribes. So, if you find a journal you are interested in below and would like to see if UNM has access, try searching for the journal title in our online journal list or contact our Ask a Librarian service if you need help.

Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL)

Key articles

Newsletters & Blogs

General SoTL Journals Available at UNM

Disciplinary SoTL Journals