Skip to Main Content

Chester H. Liebs

Historic Preservationist

PhotoPaysage/Landscape Representation Conference


 Photo: © J.B. Jackson/UNM 2015


A French and American dialogue with two days of talks and discussions, three exhibitions, film screenings and social events. 

Speakers range from artist-photographers who have focused on vernacular landscapes to landscape architects employing photography in their design practices to historians and writers examining the use of photography in the evolution of cultural landscape theory particularly by and in the wake of J. B. Jackson. 

The conference will feature the findings of a three-year research initiative at the ENSP and CNRS on the interface of landscape and photography, along with a number of the contributors to Drawn to Landscape: The Pioneering Work of J. B. Jackson, edited by Janet Mendelsohn and Chris Wilson, and slated for publication in conjunction with the conference.

French Speakers: Monique Sicard, Jordi Ballesta, Bruno Notteboom, Frédéric Pousin, Sabine Delcour, Marie-Madeleine Ozdoba, Raphaële Bertho, and Lin Chi-Ming.

U. S. Speakers: Timothy Davis, Paul Groth, Helen L. Horowitz, Matthew Coolidge, Miguel Gandert, Laurie Olin, Lucy Lippard and Chris Wilson.

Session Chairs: Brian Goldstein, Richard Longstreth, Chester Liebs, Virginia Scharff, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Katya Crawford and Laura Harjo.


Ecole nationale supérieure du paysage de Versailles (ENSP
School of Architecture and Planning, University of New Mexico 
University Libraries, University of New Mexico 
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) 
Agence nationale de la recherche 


Audra Bellmore, Associate Professor, University Libraries 
Katya Crawford, Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture 
Miguel Gandert, Distinguished Professor of Communications and Journalism 
Brian Goldstein, Assistant Professor of Architecture 
Laura Harjo, Assistant Professor of Community and Regional Planning 
Gianna May Sanchez, Master's student, History Department, Webmaster 
Chris Wilson, Committee Chair, J. B. Jackson Chair of Cultural Landscape Studies


Jordi Ballesta, Contract researcher 
Aurèle Crasson, Assistant Director at ITEM-CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
Sonial Keravel, Lecturer at the ENSP-Versailles 
Marie-Hélène Loze, Associate Professor at the ENSP 
Marie-Madeleine Ozdoba, Research Assistant at the ENSP 
Monique Sicard, Researcher at the CNRS. Co-responsible for the ANR Program Phototpaysage 
Frédéric Pousin, Research Director at the CNRS. Responsible for the ANR Program Phototpaysage