African Americans in New Mexico

Journals

There are a number of important databases and search tools found on the University Libraries homepage - that can help find research material.

On the UNM Library homepage notice that there the two sections:

DATABASES (note the Alpha breakouts) 

and

UNIQUE COLLECTIONS (inside this is the OPEN JOURNALS PORTAL). 

_____

OPEN JOURNALS PORTAL

One of the sources for African American history in the state is the New Mexico Historical Review. The NMHR, 1916 - present, is a scholarly, peer - reviewed journal published at the History Department of UNM. Over the years it has carried a number of articles or references related to African Americans, including Blacks with Coronado, the mulatto leader of the Pueblo Revolt,  NM views of Negro slavery, ex-slaves working in NM, cowboys, Montgomery Bell, Buffalo soldiers, reconstruction, statehood issues, etc. Hard copies of current and back issues and indexes for the NMHR at the CSWR.

The UNM Open Journals Portal - has the NMHR articles online, 1926 - present, indexed and full text. Try searching there.  

Or find NMHR articles via a Database - this way.

If you don't find your term in the NMHR via the UNM Portal, try the Database list on the Library homepage under Alpha P - called - Periodicals Online Archive - PAO -  it searches the NMHR from 1926 to 2000, with good results. It is full text. Go to the tab Publications - select Alpha N - and find the New Mexico Historical Review down the list. Then enter your term in the search box.

Note: If you still need material, in the CSWR NM Vertical Files there is a folder with references in past issues of the NMHR for African Americans - has some items not found by the above methods.  Folder is called - African Americans - Bibliographies - New Mexico Historical Review, references for Negros, Blacks, NM, etc.).

Here is a recent issue of the NMHR related to African Americans: Courageous Motorists: African American Pioneers on Route 66, by Frank Norris, NPS, which includes some of NM, date - Summer 2015.

DATABASES

Other useful databases found on the Library homepage are:

Under Alpha A is - America: History and Life - indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, etc. on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Includes the New Mexico Historical Review, El Palacio (from Museum of New Mexico, Santa Fe), Western Historical Quarterly, and other important Western journals. You can limited the search to African Americans and specify Geographic area - New Mexico, etc.

Also under Alpha A - Academic Search Complete - a good all-around general search index for finding articles on diverse topics.

Under Alpha J is - JSTOR - contains the complete back files of more than 1,000 core scholarly journals in a variety of humanities, business, science and social science disciplines available in PDF format. A favorite of many researchers.

Under Alpha E - Ethnic Newswatch - has news from minority, ethnic and native presses in North America, 1960 to the present, some articles are historical, others cover contemporary issues.