African Americans in New Mexico

Alternate Site for New Mexico Historical Newspapers Online

The New Mexico newspapers dating before 1922 are also available for reading online and with easier access on UNM Digital Repository.

Local newspapers

Several newspapers were published by the African American community in Albuquerque.  A few actual issues have survived. Others are on microfilm.

Here they are by title - as held at the CSWR or UNM Library:

Southwest Review, Albuquerque, issues for October 18 to 25, 1924 and February 14, 1935 to November 5, 1927, at ZIM Microfilm AN2 S68 (basement of Zimmerman Library).

The Mountain States Recorder, Albuquerque, July 15, 1939 issue, at CSWR OVS AN2 M682 (oversize).

The New Mexico State News, Albuquerque, issues for November 4 and December 2, 1950, at CSWR OVS AN2 N499.

The New Breed, Albuquerque, issues for Vol. 1, No. 1 and 2, 1970, at CSWR OVS AN2 N35.

_______________________________________________________________

More on Newspapers: 

The UNM Library home page provides access to a number of databases - for newspapers.  

To use them you need to have a UNM login or be working at a UNM Library computer.

Under Databases try:

Alpha Letter N - database is called - Access Newspaper Archive Online. It has searchable newspapers for Santa Fe, Albuquerque and Las Vegas newspapers for a century back, and for other towns in more recent decades.

Alpha Letter C - database is called - Chronicling America, a Library of Congress website, has scans of many NM Spanish newspapers up to December 1922, as provided by the CSWR / UNM.

Alpha Letter N - database is called - New Mexico Newspapers - it offers newspapers for Albuquerque since 1995 and Las Cruces and Roswell since 2004.

 

Also see another useful related libguide about newspapers for this area and beyond.