African Americans in New Mexico

Finding Photos

Use the ROCKY MOUNTAIN ONLINE ARCHIVE (RMOA) engine to search the finding guides or inventories of archival collections at the CSWR for photos. 

Tip:  To find collections with photos:

Use the RMOA - Advanced Search. Limit by institution = UNM Center for Southwest Research.  Use the word search box for your topic.  Plus! - Put  PICT - in the box for Collection Number and it will limit your search to those containing just photos!

For example:

Harold W. Stowell Photograph Collection, 1920-1969, PICT 000-505, has images of African American businesses and families from Albuquerque, ca. 1940-1960,

_____________________________________________

New Mexico Digital Collection 

Try using the New Mexico Digital Collection (NMDC) to find scanned images or media related to African Americans.

The NMDC - a CSWR / UNM online source - contains - selected - digitized documents, reports, maps, photos, chapters and videos from the CSWR archive collections. Further, the NMDC also has selected archival materials scanned from twelve other NM repositories!

Below here are a few Pictorial collections from the CSWR with photos related to African Americans. Some images from these collections are on the NMDC.

Cobb Memorial Photography Collection, 1880-1942 PICT 000-019, includes photos of African Americans in Albuquerque, 1880-1912, as businessmen, workers, men and women in choir, in foot races, children in school, etc. Collection on NMDC.

Albert W. Vogel Photograph Collection,1931-1966, Pict 000-005, material for Vogel's publication on poverty in Barelas, Arenal, and Los Lunas, 1967, South Valley, Albuquerque. Black families. Some photos on NMDC.

Buffalo Soldiers in Columbus, New Mexico Photograph Collection, 1918, PICT 2010-001, part of 24th Infantry, January 20, 1918. Collection on NMDC.

 

See a few samples from the NMDC on the right.

 

 

 

 

 

___________

 

Sample media from NMDC

From NMDC - Photo of three African American couples on bicycles, ca. 1900, likely in Albuquerque.
Photo from CSWR - William A. Keleher Photography Collection, PICT 000-742-0263


From NMDC - Crossing of Breath: Black and Indian Relations in the Southwest (video)
A digital copy of a panel discussion filmed on Nov. 10, 2005 - presentation at UNM Library, filmed by the Center for Regional Studies. Location: CSWR LD3781.N566 C4 2005 Nov. 10 tape. 4 parts.