Home - COMM 1130 - Public Speaking - Research Guides at University of New Mexico

Libraries during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Please keep in mind that the COVID-19 pandemic impacts our normal services, hours, and spaces.

Find the full text online

While searching in a database, look for the icon. A new window will open, showing one of two possibilities:

Full text online -- takes you straight to the full-text of the article - yay!

No full text online --the Article Linker screen appears with this message: "Sorry, no online full-text holdings were found."

Even if we don't have access to the full text online, you can usually still get the article you need! Just follow these steps:

Click on the "Login to Request this item" link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan or Library Express.
You'll need to set up an account the first time you do this, but after that you can login and the form is already filled out for you to submit.
This works for books and journal articles. You will receive an email when the article is ready to download (or the book has arrived in the mail).

Welcome

Hello public speaking students!

As you work on your speeches, this guide is here to help.

The Home page links out to several collections that can help you do research for your speech.
The COMM 1130 Library Tutorial examines the concept of authority and credibility of information.
Research Clinics are synchronous sessions to work on your research and chat one-on-one with a librarian.
Research Bytes are asynchronous, short tutorials that cover a range of common topics about doing research and using the library.
Remember, the library is here to help! Check out the Tips and help page to get in touch.

Get Started with Background Information

If you are unfamiliar with your topic, you can probably find an overview in one of these resources (it's a good idea to know a little something* about the topic before you look for books and scholarly journal articles):

* 1-min rule: You can talk about your topic for 1 minute uninterrupted, without consulting outside sources or repeating yourself.

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Offer concise introductions (ebooks) to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

1-concurrent user.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Are you still developing your topic? Try the Topic Finder tool in this database to visualize connections between search terms and topics and view relevant articles for those topics.

Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://galesupport.com/nmgeo/?db=AONE
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource includes a wide variety of encyclopedias and almanacs. Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=nm_p_elportal

Research your speech

Multidisciplinary Database

A great place to find a little bit of everything.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. This resource is a great place to start research. Coverage: 1887-present

Current Issues Databases

Check out the following library resources for pro/con perspectives and hot topics.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports about current issues and news in the United States. Coverage: 1991-present.

Local Information

Albuquerque Business First (via Westlaw) This link opens in a new window
Albuquerque and New Mexico weekly business news publication. Coverage: 2006-present.
New Mexico's Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital images of state, national, and international collections held by New Mexico cultural heritage institutions, including The University of New Mexico. Collections contain documents, photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, art, interviews, and music.
New Mexico Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Albuquerque Journal (coverage: 1995-current), Las Cruces Sun-News (coverage: 2004-current), and Roswell Daily Record (coverage: 2002-current).

Social & Cultural Databases

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Digitized images, articles, documents, etc. exploring the African-American experience from African origins to the present in the United States. Coverage: 500CE-present.
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Indigenous publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma. It provides an Indigenous perspective on the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation. Coverage: 1828 - 2016.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for identifying citations to articles and other resources in Chicano and Latino studies. 5 concurrent users. Updated quarterly.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles.

Librarian

Alyssa Russo

she/her

Subjects: Communication & Journalism