Research Guides: Digital Data Management, Curation, and Archiving: Domain and General Purpose Repositories

Data Repository Listings

The growing number of research domain specific, general, and institutional data repositories makes it challenging to find the appropriate repository for your data. The following resources can help as they provide search tools or lists of recommended repositories that fulfill specific needs.

re3data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
Nature Recommended Science Repositories
Nature provides a curated list of recommended data repositories for data across multiple science disciplines. The list is updated quarterly and access to previous list is also provided.

Domain and General Purpose Repositories

There are many general purpose and domain-specific data repositories that have been developed. For a more comprehensive listing of repositories please check re3data.org. The repositories listed below are a subset of the available repositories, but represent a good (and growing) cross-section of the repositories that should be considered both for data publishing and for finding data appropriate for use in research.

Repository Information

Dryad
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

Dryad’s vision is to promote a world where research data is openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge.

It's mission is to provide the infrastructure for, and promote the re-use of, data underlying the scholarly literature.

Dryad is governed by a nonprofit membership organization. Membership is open to any stakeholder organization, including but not limited to journals, scientific societies, publishers, research institutions, libraries, and funding organizations.

Publishers are encouraged to facilitate data archiving by coordinating the submission of manuscripts with submission of data to Dryad.
- From the DRYAD organizational home page Iinked above
Data.gov
Data.gov is the data clearinghouse managed by the US Federal Government for the discovery of data produced by US Federal Agencies; State, County and local Governments; and other providers (including Universities).
Figshare
Figshare is a curated general purpose repository for defined sharing of research products, including data. Data and other materials are provided DataCite DOIs to enable citation
Zenodo
Zenodo a multi-disicplinary research product repository that supports a wide variety of content including publications, presentations, images, software (including integration with GitHub), and data.

GenBank
GenBank is the genetic sequence database managed by the US National Institutes of Health as part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration.
National Centers for Environmental Information
The NCEI provides access to data submitted to and stored by multiple US National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) data centers.
GEOSS Portal
The GEOSS portal provides access to and data and data service registration for Earth science data products that are relevant to many societal impact areas of research and applications.

US Virtual Astronomical Observatory
MAST: Barbara A. Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes
The data discovery portal for the US Virtual Astronomical Observatory. Featuring images and spectroscopy data from missions including Hubble, Kepler, Sloan Digital Sky Survey, and others.
Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes
The archive front page, with policy information and documentation.

Archaeology Data Service
A Data Seal of Approval certified repository featuring global archaeological data.
Tate Archive

Open Energy Information (OpenEI)
OpenEI is a crowdsourced collection of information, data and discussions around multiple aspects of energy including buildings, efficiency, consumption, demand, potential and more.