Research Guides: AFST 315 / GEOG 364: Race and the Law: Scholarly journal articles

Pro / Con Issue Resources

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports about current issues and news in the United States. Coverage: 1991-present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays, scholarly journal articles, news articles and primary documents that present multiple perspectives on current and controversial topics. Helpful for debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers. Coverage: 2010-present.

Starting points for Journal Articles

Depending on your topic, you may need to seek out databases other than those recommended below. No single database searches across all information sources, so I recommend that you use multiple platforms to seek sources for your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focus on the research literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. 1975-present.

What can I do if the library does not own the article I need?

Current UNM student, faculty or staff members can utilize Interlibrary Loan, which:

Allows you to borrow materials from another library.
Books are held at the Zimmerman Service Desk.
Articles are posted to your ILLiad account.
Deliveries take 7-10 days depending on availability
Requests for journal articles are sent digitally to your UNM email, usually within 2-3 days