Research Guides: Arts of New Spain, Bourbon Period: Databases and Articles

Best bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database includes scholarly journal articles from a variety of international peer-reviewed journals covering art, architecture, and design. Coverage: 1880-present. Art Full-Text has been subsumed into this database.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes international arts publications, including reproductions of artworks. Includes architecture, design, museology, and photography. Coverage: 1929 to 1984
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of disciplinary perspectives for Latin American and Latina/Latino contemporary and historical studies, including sociology, economics, anthropology, political science.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage 1900s-present.
World Scholar Archives: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
This collection of articles, maps, statistics, audio, video, and primary documents supports undergraduate student research in Latin American and Caribbean history, politics, economics, sociology and culture.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.

To find books, use the search box on the library front page. This searches Worldcat, the library database of books and articles. Once you find a source or two that look really good, note the SUBJECT links in the detailed record. Follow these links to find other books with the same links. If you know exactly what you're looking for, try searching for the title using quotes. For example, "Text and Act: Essays on Music and Performance".

Still can't find it?

If the UNM libraries don't have the item, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL services are available only to UNM students, faculty, and staff.

Search across multiple databases

ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search several ProQuest databases together.
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search several EBSCO databases together.