Museum Studies

Museum Organizations

New Mexico Association of Museums - The New Mexico Association of Museums promotes cooperation and communication among all museums, museum workers, and related organizations. The Association strives to improve professional standards within the museum field through activities, events, educational programs and fellowships, and acts as an advocate for New Mexico museums at the local, state, national, and international levels.

 

American Alliance of Museums - The American Alliance of Museums’ mission is to champion museums and nurture excellence in partnership with our members and allies. From art museums to science centers, arboretums to zoos, members of the diverse museum community share something in common—strong support, standards of excellence, knowledge sharing, and professional networks provided by the American Alliance of Museums.

 

American Association of State and Local History - The American Association for State and Local History is a national membership association dedicated to helping the history community thrive. For the better part of a century, AASLH has provided leadership and resources to its members who preserve and interpret state and local history to make the past more meaningful to all people.

 

Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts - A nonprofit, full-service facility with experts in a range of disciplines that has been providing conservation and preservation services since 1977. Their mission is to provide expertise and leadership in the preservation of cultural heritage.

 

Canadian Conservation Institute - The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), a Special Operating Agency within the Department of Canadian Heritage, advances and promotes the conservation of Canada's heritage collections through its expertise in conservation science, treatment and preventive conservation. CCI works with heritage institutions and professionals to ensure these heritage collections are preserved and accessible to Canadians now and in the future.

 

Society of American Archivists - Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists. SAA represents more than 6,200 professional archivists employed by governments, universities, businesses, libraries, and historical organizations nationally.

Online Resources

CCI Publications - The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) provides a number of publications free of charge and a select number for purchase.

NEDCC Preservation Leaflets - Click the Leaflet topic categories to begin your exploration of this popular and authoritative resource, or use the search box to find expert information on a wide variety of preservation topics.

Connecting to Collections Care - Connecting to Collections Care is a program designed for all types of small to mid-sized cultural institutions to provide resources, professional development opportunities and support for caring for collections.  They have an ongoing program of free webinars. Access to recordings from over 175 previous webinars is available in their Archives.

NPS Conserve-O-Grams - They are short, focused leaflets about caring for museum objects, published in loose-leaf format. New topics are added as needed and out-of-date issues are revised or deleted. Semiannual supplements will be issued for an indeterminate period.