Museum Studies

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete - This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. This resource is a great place to start research. Coverage: 1887-present

America: History & Life - U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia.

ArticleFirst - Index of scholarly journal articles covering business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Coverage: 1990-present.

CQ Press Electronic Library - Resources covering the United States government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, CQ Almanac, and Historic Documents Series.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) - Multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. Available for reading online or downloading for offline use. Downloading requires registering for Ebsco account and is subject to concurrent user limitations.

ERIC (ProQuest) - The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) includes scholarly articles, reports, curriculum and teaching guides and conference papers covering multiple levels of education from preK to higher education. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the United States Department of Education. Provides a more robust search interface of the freely available ERIC database. Coverage: 1966-present.

Gale Academic OneFile - Multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, news, reference sources, and multimedia for many subjects. Coverage: 1990s-present.

Gale OneFile: Information Science - Scholarly journals and trade publications.

Google Scholar - An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for Find@UNM to link to full articles. For books check the library catalog.   Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.

Hathi Trust - Contains books and scholarly journals digitized from libraries around the world covering many topics and languages. Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with NetID   Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with UNM NetID.

Humanities International Complete - Provides indexing to journals, books, magazines, and other published humanities sources from around the world.

Library & Information Sciences Abstracts (LISA) - Designed for library professionals and other information specialists, this resource contains scholarly journals, trade journals, and magazines in multiple languages.

LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) - Journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage 1960 to current.

Periodicals Archive Online - US and international journals covering the humanities and social sciences in many subject areas. Includes foreign-language titles (many with English abstracts and/or translations).

ProQuest Ebook Central - Multidisciplinary collection of more than 150,000 ebooks. Titles can be browsed, read online, and downloaded. Compatible with several portable devices.

Downloading ebook requires Adobe Digital Editions for desktop/laptop use or Bluefire Reader for Apple or Android.

Sage Journals Online - Research articles in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

WorldCat via FirstSearch - The world's most comprehensive online library catalog covering all topics, listing what is held by more than 13,000 libraries worldwide, including the UNM University Libraries.

Subject Specific Databases

Museum Studies is a multi-disciplinary  subject.  The databases coverd on this page are for museum studies and not related disciplines such as anthropology, art, biology, history, etc.  If you are looking for a specific subject, please check the University Libraries databases page to find subject specific databases.

Library Resources

There are a number of books that are available in the library that pertain to various aspects of museum studies.  You can find them in the following locations:

General Museum Studies, Museum Conservation,Exhibit Design, and Anthropology Museums:  Zimmerman Library

Science and Natural History Museums:  Centennial Science and Engineering Library

Art Museums:  Fine Arts Library