Skip to main content

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

Celebrating Chilean Women in Latin American Collections at the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections

by Suzanne Schadl on 2018-03-22T14:37:00-06:00 in Library, CSWR, International Studies, Cultural Studies, Women & Gender Studies, Spanish & Portuguese, Foreign Languages & Literature, Latin American | Comments

In honor of Women’s History Month, the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections offers a series of five posts on collections that highlight important women and special collections. In this second post -- from Samantha Banda, Wendy Pedersen and Suzanne Schadl -- we invite readers to participate in Las Mujeres Hablan, exhibited in the Herzstein Latin American Reading Room on the second floor in Zimmerman Library. ​​The exhibition invites your contributions and features materials from the following unprocessed collections in the CSWR SPC.

 

​            

A selection of posters copied from the Seriagrafía Instantanea Collection. This self-organized and autonomous socio-political collective represents womens’ demands and mobilizations against repressive economic and cultural systems. Their screen-prints and other popular graphics are presented as tools for protesting in public spaces. The collective also holds itinerant workshops and courses on screen-printing techniques in Chile and across the continent. To date, more than 5,000 people have participated in its training activities. Once processed this collection of screen-prints will reside in the Latin American Ephemera Pictorial Collection in the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections (one the first floor of this library). To learn more about this collection, contact Suzanne Schadl, Latin American Collections Curator, at schadl@unm.edu. If yo are interested in other references to women in Latin American pictorial works see Mujeres

   

Selections from a Chilean contribution to a collection of Latin American zines and comics. The term "zine" (derived from the word "fanzine") refers to a small, informal, non-professionally produced publication. A zine can be about pretty much anything: politics, music, sex, gender relations, sports, pop culture - the list is virtually endless. By their nature zines are hard to define exactly, but distinguishing common characteristics include a small circulation (sometimes via subscription but often distributed informally among interested parties) and a raison d'etre that stresses free expression over profit. Zines are graphic expressions of their authors' social, cultural, and political interests and concerns. They are creative outlets devoted to individual and idiosyncratic self-expression Once processed these zines will comprise part of a manuscript collection held in the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections. To learn more about this collection, contact Wendy Pedersen, Acquisitions Specialist (wpeder@unm.edu) or Suzanne Schadl, Curator, Latin American collections (schadl@unm.edu).

 

Selections from the Karno Chilean Arpillera Collection. This gift of arpilleras or quilts were stitched by Arpilleristas during the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s in response to the dictatorship of General Augusto Pinochet, which began with a military coup in 1973. Created in workshops, with an average of 20 women sharing responsibilities, arpilleras reflect stories of loss -- depicting loved ones who were captured by the Chilean Military. Women stitched these memorial quilts and protested together to earn money and international attention through their art and advocacy. You can see these arpilleras on the southwest side of the Zimmerman Learning Commons downstairs. To learn more about this collection, contact Suzanne Schadl, Latin American Collections Curator, at schadl@unm.edu 

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...