Skip to main content

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

New Search Options Part of the Updated Web Page

by Patricia Campbell on 2019-08-21T10:12:13-06:00 in Library | Comments

The University Libraries Web Steering Committee has been at work for the last year on the redesign of the main library website. A significant driver of the project was to update the structure of the site to leverage the latest UNM content management system templates and to update the design using the current brand standards. Additionally, the web team is interested in making sure the services used most by students are easy to find, showcasing our unique collections and featuring important collections and services. The new site uses responsive design to support users who are using the library from their mobile devices without having to maintain a separate mobile site.

If you can’t find something you need on the new library website, let us know here: https://goto.unm.edu/webhelp.

an image of the search boxes on the website

Search options have been updated as follows.

Catalog Search
Searches EBSCO Discovery Service for resources we either own or have licensed. On our old site, this was the “Search UNM University Libraries” option. Note that once you do your search, you can uncheck the “Available in Library Collection” box to find materials (other than books) that we don’t own.  
The old “Search Libraries Worldwide” option is now a link under the search box to “Search WorldCat Discovery instead.” Once you do the search, you can limit to UNM libraries, or even specific libraries including several departmental libraries.
 

Books Only
Searches WorldCat Discovery for both print and ebooks. WorldCat Discovery includes records from thousands of libraries worldwide, making this the best tool for finding books that we own or may be able to obtain via InterLibrary Loan. You can always limit to UNM after you search.
 

Articles Only
A new search option, this searches EBSCO Discovery Service with the peer-reviewed limiter applied. Finds scholarly articles and article-like things: e.g., chapters from edited volumes. This search is not limited to “Available in Library Collection,” so it is a good choice when InterLibrary Loan is an option. You can also limit to UNM from the results screen.
 

Journals Only
This is most significant change to our searches. On our old site, the journals search offered separate searches for print an online journals, and online journals had to be searched by title. Now, the Journal Search uses WorldCat Discovery to find print or online journals by title or keyword. This search is limited to UNM Main Campus plus UNM’s Health and Law libraries, though you can change that to libraries worldwide from the results screen.
 

Databases
If you are looking for a database such as Web of Science, ARTstor, or the Roper Center Archives for Public Opinion Research, you can access them here by title, subject, or type.
 

Research Guides
We create guides with suggested databases, search tips, and other research help for many disciplines, special topics, or specific classes. You can find them using this search. Have an idea for a research guide? Let us know!

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...