Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

Meet Jolene Manus, CULLS Native American Collections Curator

by Sara Velasquez on 2022-04-20T14:18:39-06:00 in Library, CSWR | Comments

The College of University Libraries and Learning Science is very excited to welcome Jolene Manus as the new Native American Collections Curator at the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections.

Manus began at CULLS in September 2021. “UNM was a natural extension from my previous employment and I feel very happy to be able to move forward in my profession while being able to stay in the area I call home.” Prior to UNM, Manus worked as a librarian at the Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute. Her extensive experience also includes work at Dine’ College Libraries and the Cline Library at Northern Arizona University.

Jolene is Dine’/Omaha/Tsalagi from the Navajo Nation and is proud to advocate for Indigenous communities who are sovereign nations. Manus aims to challenge harmful collection acquisitioning that has historically been a part of archival work in the past.

“I do have a goal to outreach to tribes so that they can be aware of the types of information gathered and represented in collections at the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections. I also would like Indigenous UNM students to learn what we have here and how we are working on respectful relationships with tribes and Pueblos and respectful collection development.”

Jolene has lived in Albuquerque for 11 years and is a fan of both green and red chile. She also enjoys reading multiple books with her favorite book being Siddartha by Hermann Hesse. Manus received her undergraduate degree at Northern Arizona University and received her Master of Arts in Information Resources and Library Sciences at the University of Arizona.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...