Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

INSIDE AND OUT: THE SPECIAL COLLECTIONS BLOG - CSWR

by Nancy Brown-Martinez on 2020-06-20T21:51:00-06:00 in Southwest Studies & New Mexico | Comments

THE WAR YEARS: 

SELECTED IMAGES FROM THE NEW MEXICO DIGITAL COLLECTION

     The Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections, UNM Library, hosts the New Mexico Digital Collection (NMDC).  It contains selected scans from the CSWR archives and over twenty other state institutions.  We appreciate our partners adding their historical material to this site. 

     Here are scenes about and from the World War II era to honor the 75th anniversary of the ending of the fighting.  Besides the CSWR archives, there are a couple front pages of the UNM Lobo newspaper, which appear on the UNM Digital Repository.  There are some covers from the Albuquerque Progress magazine, from the Albuquerque Public Library Special Collections (APL SC).  Also included are a few images from the Los Lunas Museum (LLM); the Palace of the Governors, Santa Fe (POG); the Farmington Museum (FM); the Hubbard Museum of the American West, Ruidoso (HMR) and the New Mexico Military Institute, Roswell. 

Click on the images for more details and their sources.

    undefined   undefined      undefined

Hitler elected chancellor of Germany, 1933.  Nazi destruction of culture.  German sub sinking Mex. ship, Gulf Mexico, all CSWR.

undefined      undefined     undefined

Pre-Bataan NM 200th Coast Artillery, Las Vegas, 1940, POG.  Gov. poster Bataan POWS tortured by Japanese, CSWR.  Corrido de Bataan # 8, CSWR.

undefined   undefined    undefined    undefined

1. Bob Chavez, Bataan survivor, artist, teacher, Cochiti Pueblo, POG.  2. Adolfo Sanchez, Jarales, NM, Army Air Corps radar, France, Philippines, Japan, LLM.  3. Caroline Kelly, Sta Fe, Red Cross recreation, N. Guinea, Australia, CSWR.  4. Mario J. Menicucci, Alb,. air force, Australia, N. Zealand, CSWR.

                                        undefined                         undefined

Recording Navajo Soldiers' Song to Japanese Girls, CSWR.  Recordio Taos/Jemez Pueblo soldiers' song Bomb the Berlin ,1945  CD avail. at CSWR.

undefined     undefined     undefined

Japanese-American internment camp Santa Fe, POG.  Ruins German POW camp Fort Stanton, NM, HMR.  US graves South Pacific island battle, FM.

undefined    undefined    undefined

Fuller Lodge by John G. Meem 1928, taken over 1943 US Army, CSWR.  Trinity bomb rack 1945, CSWR.  Hiroshima, US soldier/Japanese child. LLM.

undefined   undefined   undefined

At home, Navajo carrot field war effort, Bluewater.  Mexican braceros replacing US workers at war.  Woman and child alone, Lincoln, NM, all CSWR.

undefined     undefined    undefined    undefined

1. Alb H S Vocational work craft grads at bus going to work in CA defense factories/shipyards, 2/1942. 2. Alb. H S boys gathering war effort scrap, 11/1942.  3. Alb. Eaton Metal Co. made pontoon landing craft for war, 3/1944.  4. Tribute to women workers, 6/1945, all AP issues from APL SC.

     undefined   undefined    

Gov. Blackout orders on campus, 9/12/1941, CSWR.  US Navy men training in engineering at UNM, great photos, 12, 1944, from APL SC.

    undefined undefined    

Union of the Americas Joined in Freedom, 1943, mural by distinguished Mexican artist, Jesus Galvan Guerrero, UNM artist in residence, US war allies with Latin America.  UNM Lobo, students raise money for war effort, Campa serves in Italy, postwar labor planning ideas, etc., 5/26/1944, both CSWR.  

                                 undefined            undefined               

NMMI, Roswell, December 1945.  Returning from war, Frank Ortiz and wife Rita Cordova Ortiz, Cordova Ranch, Manzano Mountains, LLM.

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...