Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

DISC archives UNM Sports History Footage

by Sara Velasquez on 2021-03-22T09:54:34-06:00 in Library | Comments

University Libraries Digital Initiatives and Scholarly Communications (DISC) has archived over 300 videos of The University of New Mexico’s athletic games spanning from 1947 to 2004. The UNM Sports History Digital Archive  has been added to the UNM Digital Repository making them available to the public just in time for March Madness.

The collection includes a variety of recorded games, practices, and clips of UNM teams. A majority of the collection features football games. Also included in the collection is men’s and women’s basketball games. Some rarer finds in the collection include the Men’s tennis practice and the UNM swim team from 1997.

          The oldest video in the collection is the UNM Lobos versus Drake Bulldogs on Nov. 15, 1947. The most recent video in the collection is the UNM Lobos versus Air Force Fighting Falcons, Oct. 9, 2004.

The collection contains game footage of famous Lobo football player, Brian Urlacher. In 2013, Urlacher’s number was retired making him only the fourth Lobo football player to receive this honor. The collection also includes clips of the 1997 Men’s Basketball team preparing for the NCAA Tournament and clips of their game against the Louisville Cardinals.

DISC supports research and collaboration for UNM faculty and students in many ways. Previous projects DISC has worked on include: the Tony Hillerman Portal: an interactive guide to the life and work of Tony Hillerman, the Rudolfo Anaya Digital Archive: a comprehensive online guide to Anaya's work, and UNM Theses and Dissertations Digitization Project: a digital conversion of UNM student scholarship from the 1930s through the 1970s.

UNM’s Digital Repository is an open access institutional repository created to preserve, gather and disseminate scholarship, research and cultural works created by UNM faculty, staff and students within UNM departments, centers and programs. The repository supports teaching and lifelong learning within the UNM campus and broader New Mexico community by making deposited materials permanently and freely accessible.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...