Skip to main content

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

DISC Fall Update

by Patricia Campbell on 2019-11-08T11:56:42-07:00 in Library | Comments

Sarah R. Kostelecky was recently appointed as the director of Digital Initiatives and Scholarly Communication (DISC) for University Libraries. Previously at UNM, Kostelecky served as the education librarian and access services librarian in the Indigenous Nations Library Program. She earned both her M.A. in Information Resources and Library Science and B.A. in Sociology from the University of Arizona. Prior to working at UNM, she was the library director at the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe. She was also a librarian in the Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Library system. Her research focuses on outreach efforts to underrepresented communities, diversity in academic libraries and library collections, and Native American language resources. She is a member of Zuni Pueblo in New Mexico.

Kostelecky and the DISC team – staff member Amy Winter, CLIR Fellow Margie Montanez, and two talented and hard-working graduate student fellows – are dedicated to increasing access to UNM and state-wide special collections and promoting open access. The team offers practical and technical support to their UNM-wide and state-wide partners for digitization projects large and small, as well as development of web portals for special content.

map of repository downloads by countryThe UNM Digital Repository (digitalrepository.unm.edu) is a digital showcase of the research, scholarly, and creative output of the UNM community. The repository is administered by University Libraries for the entire campus and serves as a permanent, ever-growing, free digital archive to disseminate UNM's research and scholarship as widely as possible.

A few of their most recent project include two oral history collections located online at digitalrepository.unm.edu:

  • The “Native American Oral History Program Interviews of UNM Affiliates,” is only one of several great oral history collections digitized by the library and made available online.
  • The “UNM Black Alumni Chapter Oral History Project” contains ten video interviews with members of the UNM Black Alumni Chapter.  Transcripts accompany each interview.

Last month, the UNM Digital Repository had 53,859 full-text downloads and 217 new submissions were posted, bringing the total works in the repository to 103,974. University of New Mexico scholarship was read by 3,351 institutions across 182 countries (see map).

The most popular publications were:

  • Centro Cultural Abya Yala del Ecuador (20,795 downloads)
  • Natural Resources Journal (5,903 downloads)
  • New Mexico Law Review (3,409 downloads)

New Mexico Digital Collections (nmdc.unm.edu) is hosted by University Libraries on behalf of a large number of partners in the state and is a central repository for digital collections about New Mexico. Collections in many formats are included: photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state. There are no restrictions on who can search the site but the content is owned by the individual partners who may place restrictions on how it can be used.

Another oral history project “The Working People’s History of New Mexico Project” is part of this statewide resource New Mexico’s Digital Collections at nmdc.unm.edu. This project has gathered stories of labor-management relations and participation in union, workers council, and social activism in New Mexico. Eight new interviews were recently added.

There were 36,802 total pageviews for New Mexico Digital Collections in September 2019. The most popular collections were:

  • UNM Libraries Nuclear Engineering Wall Charts (2,279)
  • Palace of the Governors Photo Archives Collection (1,761)
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History Bulletins (1,595)

For more information on Digital Initiatives and Special Collections visit goto.unm.edu/disc.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...