D.H. Lawrence aficionados view his archives at the Center for Southwest Research, UNM Library, Albuquerque
By Cindy Abel Morris, CSWR Photo Archivist
Conference attendees, July 2022, CSWR staff
On Monday, July 19, 2022, the Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) hosted 35 international guests in the Frank Water’s room in Zimmerman Library, at the University of New Mexico. These visitors were passing through Albuquerque on their way to Taos, to attend the 15th International D.H. Lawrence Conference.
The visit to UNM was a pre-conference add-on, offering those with time an opportunity to view and handle books, letters and photographs from CSWR collections by and about Lawrence. CSWR has approximately 30 collections with 1000s of items related to Lawrence and his New Mexico activities and colleagues. Here is a guide to the CSWR archival holdings about Lawrence found on the New Mexico Archives Online site. Below is also a printed list of sources related to D.H. Lawrence held by the CSWR that were on display for the conference group – provided by Cindy Abel Morris.
Conference attendees examine early editions of D.H. Lawrence books, manuscripts and photographs, July 2022, CSWR staff
The CSWR also preserves over 250 books authored by Lawrence. Here is the link to the UNM catalog records for his books. Included is an early edition of his 1923 novel Kangaroo, which as the title suggests, is set in Australia. Many versions feature covers with a kangaroo; one of our copies instead features a ship on the book jacket.
Kangaroo, 1923 edition, July 2022, CSWR staff
Top left, D.H. Lawrence, from Dorothy Brett Pictorial Collection, CSWR, UNM, Albuquerque. Top right, Frieda Lawrence, from UNM Public Affairs. Bottom, their ranch cabin in Taos, from UNM Archives, CSWR, UNM, by Al Bearce. Rights to digital images are held by UNM.
While primarily an opportunity to view archival collection materials, Dr. Audra Bellmore, CSWR Curator of the John Gaw Meem Archive of Southwestern Architecture, highlighted the UNM-Lawrence connection, describing UNM’s stewardship of the D.H. Lawrence Ranch (donated by Frieda Lawrence following Lawrence’s death). Bellmore urged UNM to actively preserve the site and develop outreach to visitors and scholars around the world.
Dr. Feroza Jussawalla, Professor Emerita of the UNM English Department, author, and the Lawrence Conference liaison, is the heart and soul behind the event. She offered welcoming remarks and discussed the materials with the scholars.
Cindy Abel Morris and Audra Bellmore, 2022 photo, CSWR staff
Read more about the group’s visit to CSWR in the: UNM Daily Lobo article of July 7, 2022.
Your kind support helps preserve the D.H. Lawrence Ranch for future generations. Scan here:
Your kind support helps our CSWR preservation and education efforts.
D.H. Lawrence Sources at CSWR UNM Special Collections,
compiled by Cindy Abel Morris, CSWR, July 2022. Lawrence appears in numerous collections and catalogs at CSWR.
Material which is in digital formats is available through NM Digital Collections
(https://nmdc.unm.edu/ or specifically – https://nmdc.unm.edu/digital/search/searchterm/%22d.h.%20lawrence%22)
Physical items and descriptions of collections are found in NM Archives Online (https://nmarchives.unm.edu/ or specifically:
A selection of items is on display her, from collections including:
Collection of D.H. Lawrence correspondence -- MSS 868 SC
This a collection of handwritten and signed letters from D.H. Lawrence, amassed by the Center for Southwest Research; includes Lawrence to Conway which discusses life in New Mexico
Lawrence to Conway which discusses progress on his Mexico novel, "The Plumed Serpent"
“My dear Eight” 1925
D. H. Lawrence Papers – MSS 94 BC
26 typescripts (usually carbon copies), and 5 galley proofs – pick one or two that are pleasing to the eyes; contains a guest book from the D.H. Lawrence Ranch, July 1937-June, 1963 with signatures including of Georgia O'Keeffe, Robinson Jeffers, Peggy Pond Church, Dorothy Brett and Edward Weston
D. H. Lawrence Realia – MSS 350 BC
White marble sculpture of Gertrude Stein; winged Etruscan Horse with figures of a man and a woman: embroidered panel worked by D.H. Lawrence and Frieda Lawrence
Sons and Lovers Screenplay Script and Illustrations – MSS 922 BC
Includes movie posters of Sons and Lovers
Taos Wood Blocks Collection – MSS 316 BC
Wood blocks used in Laughing Horse and El Crepusculo, with one or two woodblocks by D.H.L.
Warren Roberts Letters from Frieda Lawrence and Dorothy Brett – MSS 1014 BC
Recently acquired collection of letters between Frieda Lawrence and Dorothy Brett about D.H. Lawrence
D.H. Lawrence Photograph Collection – PICT-000-094
Small collection of photographs of D.H. and Frieda Lawrence
Witter Bynner Photographs of D.H. Lawrence – PICT-986-010
25 prints from Witter Bynner's Journey with Genius: Recollections and Reflections Concerning the D.H. Lawrence is his literary account of his acquaintance with D.H. Lawrence and Frieda Lawrence in New Mexico and Mexico in 1922 and 1923 (published 1981)
Frieda Lawrence Photograph Collection – PICT-000-144
Small collection of photographs of D.H. Lawrence, Frieda Lawrence, and others
Lawrence’s publications and secondary sources can be researched in the UNL Library catalog:
(library.unm.edu or specifically -- https://unm.on.worldcat.org/search?clusterResults=off&stickyFacetsChecked=on&overrideStickyFacetDefault=true&queryString=d.+h.+lawrence)
Lady Chatterley’s Lover, 1928 PR6023 A93 L2 1928 or 1928a or 1928b
Love among the Haystacks, 1930 PR6023 A93 L66 1930
Sons and Lovers, 1923 PR6023 A93 S65 1923
Virgin and the Gypsy, 1930 PR6023 A93 V5x 1930
Kangaroo, 1923 PR6023 A93 K3 1923b
Fantasia of the unconscious, 1923 BF173 L24 1923
Psychoanalysis and the unconscious, 1923 BF173 L35 1923
Mastro-don Gesualdo, 1923 PQ4734 V5 M52
The Paintings of D.H. Lawrence, 1929 759.2 L435p
Pansies, 1929 limited and signed PR6023 L435p 1929
Sun: Being the unexpurgated Version of this Story, 1929 PR6023 A93 S 1928
The Escaped Cock, 1929 PR6023 A93 E7