Research Guides: Biology: Articles & Databases

Recommended Databases for General Biology

The following databases are good resources to use at the beginning of your research process to search broadly for scholarly articles, proceedings, and other scientific information resources. They can also be used to track and analyze specific citations.

Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more. Coverage 1926 to present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, in addition to social science and arts & humanities indices. A great place to start or expand on scientific research. Allows subject searching as well as searching by cited authors.
Zoological Record (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Research resource for zoology and animal biology topics, including citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, and books. The leading taxonomic reference and unofficial register of animal or species names. Part of Web of Science. Coverage: 1864-present.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.

Databases for Biology Subtopics

National Agricultural Library (USDA) This link opens in a new window
NAL provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines (e.g., plants, animal, entomology, forestry).
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Collection of life science research journals from independent society and organizational publishers. Subject coverage includes biology, ecology, environmental science, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Includes peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, reports, and more. Coverage: 1935-present.

Health Sciences Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
*Open Access* Includes over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some full-text links to PubMed Central content and open access publisher web sites. Strongest subject areas include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature and information, including evidence-based care sheets.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and full text access to information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, summaries of systematic reviews, reports from health technology assessment organizations, economic evaluations of health care interventions, and more. Updated quarterly.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical research literature database that is also useful in building comprehensive systematic reviews for evidence-based medicine decisions.

Full Biology Database List

Biology Databases at UNM
Link to a list of all of UNM's subscription Biology databases, plus a selection of free open access resources.

Science & Nature

Science This link opens in a new window
Publishes the best in research across the sciences, with articles that rank among the most cited in the world.
Nature This link opens in a new window
A weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness and accessibility.

Journal Title Abreviations

CASSI Search Tool
Verify journal titles and abbreviations with the Chemical Abstracts Service.
NML Catalog
Find journal titles indexed in PubMed and related NCBI databases