Research Guides: American Studies: Home

Welcome

This guide includes key references for American studies resources. It should be used as a supplement to specific subject guides in applicable disciplines like History, Literature, and Art as well as in other related interdisciplinary fields like Chicana/o, Latin American, Africana, Native American and Women's Studies.

Getting started

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for identifying citations to articles and other resources in Chicano and Latino studies. 5 concurrent users. Updated quarterly.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A research starting point for students looking for background information to inform their topic. With millions of articles pulled from hundreds of books, Credo is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present